D&D 5E Five new players. 1st level PCs. First monster they meet is...

Wik

First Post
So, running a game. Five of the six players have never played D&D before. They're all first level characters - I have no idea what yet, chargen is tomorrow.

I want to get the game off to a good start. I have the dungeon set up so there's a monster to pass before entering the canyon dungeon. What should that monster be? What's the most interesting or memorable thing for a group of complete newbs to meet first that will get them "hooked"?

redrick

First Post
If you want to be traditional, you really can't go wrong with the good old goblin. Relatively easy to hit, low enough hp to one-shot with a good hit, but not autokill. Dangerous to first level PC. And the nimble escape feature is a simple, visible way for the monster to "do something tricky" that makes them more dangerous. Plus everybody loves roleplaying goblins!

Honestly, I think the first encounter from LMoP is a GREAT example of 5e combat. Drills home the value of surprise, cover and mobility. Over very quickly. Kills off a PC or two before the players get too attached.

The Human Target

Adventurer
I mean kobolds and skeletons and goblins are classic.

Whatever they are, just make sure it isn't a meaningless fight.

Give it some character and a purpose.

Herobizkit

Adventurer
It's stereotypical, but a Big Beefy "Death Knight", his meek Necromancer wizard ally, and his two skeleton pals who have bows.

Maybe a Hobgoblin, a Goblin, and two skeletal dogs? :)

Or a Chimera. :)

iserith

Magic Wordsmith