Good 8, Evil 9 - Evil wins the Exhibition!

On deck for evil is a huge creature with pitch black skin, 15ft tall, weighing in at 5,500 imperial pounds. Infinitus has two smallish claws and two massive pincers with a jawline to make even Fabio proud.
[sblock] Infinitus casts mirror image. In fact, he will do so every single round he's in the on-deck circle. Eventually, he'll max out, but he'll keep putting 'em on. [/sblock]
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hald flies through, sensing around, and lands at 100n55e.

I2K
[sblock]
Hald knows nothing about the silver dragon other than recognizing it as a dragon. The DC of 10+HD makes dragons pretty hard to make a Knowledge check on. With a K(arcana) of +9, Hald needs a roll of 20 to get a basic understanding of himself!
[/sblock]

Gansk
[sblock]
Unless I'm mistaken, Hurrycane was 5ft out of the outermost sensing range of Hald.

The spell substitution makes sense to me.

Lothir doesn't know anything about Hald, other than recognizing him as a fellow dragon who happens to be black. Apparently he fell asleep in the good little dragon's class on chromatics.
[/sblock]

Round 35 - Hurrycane!
 

Gansk
[sblock]
Hurrycane recognizes the new evil combatant as something that looks like it could hurt him, but that's about it. Lothir has no specific knowledge training about outsiders, but since he got a natural 20 on his "common knowledge" check and I can't think of any good "signature ability" for a glabrezu, we'll say that he expects that that nasty looking demon over there has some form of DR that Lothir can't bypass.
[/sblock]

I2K
[sblock]
Mr. Infiniti you hurt my head thinking about how mirror image stacks. ;)

"The same spell can sometimes produce varying effects if applied to the same recipient more than once. Usually the last spell in the series trumps the others. None of the previous spells are actually removed or dispelled, but their effects become irrelevant while the final spell in the series lasts."

It seems that the number of active images of the last spell cast would be active as long as the spell duration goes on. That part's easy. The next part is the tough one: is mirror image considered to end as soon as the last image is destroyed? If so, then as soon as Spell N's images are destroyed, Spell N-1 pops up and is active. If not, then the caster has to take a Std action to dismiss Spell N before Spell N-1 will pop up. Play balance-wise the first option is pretty scary.

Anyway, your first roll was a '4' to give you the maximum 8 images.
[/sblock]
 

Greybar[sblock]This is regarding knowledge checks for dragons, elementals, and other creatures that have different hit dice with new qualities or abilities added as hit dice are added. The following is not explicitly in the rules, but is how Gansk and I rule in our games, and how we have been ruling in TBoAA.

A dragon (or elemental, or other creature of the sort mentioned above) should still be recognized as the type of dragon it is if the knowledge check is sufficient to gain knowledge of the smallest dragon of that kind.

For example, a black dragon should be recognized as such if a 14 or better were rolled on the Knowledge check. If the number rolled were sufficient to identify it as a black dragon, but not sufficiently high to gain knowledge based on the actual black dragon's hit dice, knowledge about abilities it gains at that age category would not be gained.

If a 17 were rolled on the knowledge check against a juvenile black dragon, possible information learned would be that the dragon is definitely older than very young (based on the size discrepancy), its breath weapon and immunities, and dragon traits. The darkness spell-like ability could not be learned because the dragon does not have that ability at very young age.

I think I was too long-winded, but I wanted to let you know how we handle such knowledge checks.[/sblock]
 

Gansk and I2K (and any observers), feel free to read PJSlavner's sblock in post #124.
I'll be updating your knowledge checks for the new On-Deck folks based on this, which makes a heckuva lot more sense to me.
 

Gansk, read Greybar's previous sblock. It's about mirror images (no big deal since you'll see them soon enough). I had start to put multiple mirror images, but then Greybar respond. My response is:

Okay. I was thinking that "Same Effect More than Once in Different Strengths" would apply, but I can see either interpretation.

Really good point about the mirror image spell not actually ending when the last image is lost. Wow, I've never noticed that.

To Greybar [sblock] Unless there's a change, then, Infinitus will stay with the maximum rolled mirror image. [/sblock]
 

A seven foot tall bird-guy appears at 10N60E, concentrates, and flies straight up to 45Z.

Hald is surrounded by a 20 foot high wall of blades in a 10 foot radius circle centered at 105N60E.

[sblock]Squawk the avoral guardinal casts a targeted dispel magic. Hurrycane casts a blade barrier and moves to 60N0E. Lothir casts shield of faith.

I do not have a list of Hurrycane buffs prepared, but I'll try to compose it now.

true seeing, death ward, water breathing, daylight, align weapon (good), bear's endurance, aid, shield of faith, bless, see invisibility - all 14 minute duration or more

All the other spells except for greater invisibility have either expired or will expire at the end of this round. Greater invisibility will expire at the end of round 45.

Hurrycane will keep his sword sheathed to hide the daylight - if that is not possible, then Hald should be getting a hint of Hurrycane's location.[/sblock]
 

Man, Evil is being sucker-punched here. :confused:

(Not saying this in a bad way to you, Gansk, it's actually meant as a compliment--good tactics.)

Hald will stay put and through the blades Bird-Man and Hurrycane see him readied.
[sblock] He readies to breathe at his invisible opponent, who will be landing in the VZ soon. [/sblock]
 

Infiniti, you may want to restate your move due to...

Hald feels a dispel rip through his buffs:
[sblock]
(Let's see if I noted all correctly)
Protection From Good - Dispelled
Resistance - Retained!
True Strike - Dispelled
[/sblock]

Gansk
[sblock]
IMHO, if a sword is in the sheath then its glowing can't be seen.

Also, if you could get your opinion as BoAA master-GM on the stacking of mirror image I'd appreciate it. I'm going to post to Shearing Pen on it to keep it out of the rounds here.

Also:
+20 hp from Bear's Endurance
+18 hp from Aid (max!)
I now list Hurrycane as having 103 hp. Confirm?
[/sblock]
 
Last edited:

Greybar:
[sblock] The true strike should be gone since he hasn't used it yet. You need to roll for the shield. [/sblock]

Hald instead casts a spell and stays put.
[sblock] protection from good [/sblock]
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top