Grab rules

Stowing a shield is most definitely a standard action. There are no rules about dropping a shield, only stowing.

There is no such rule about light shield.

Both shield types are strapped to your arm. So, dropping a shield is not like dropping a weapon(which is a free action). I would sat that since sheathing a weapon is a minor action and stowing a shield is a stander action, I would say dropping a shield would be a move action or at the very least a minor action.

I thought dropping ANY (held) item was a free action?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I thought dropping ANY (held) item was a free action?

The point being a shield is not a held item.

Well, most types of shield.

Shields tend to be strapped onto the arm for maximum effectiveness; as such they are WORN, not HELD.

A simple way to show this is the case with 4e's light shields: You can hold a potion while wearing a light shield. The potion is in your hand, so the shield can't be being held in your hand.
 

I am not sure what Shaman power you are referring to, but if it is the At-will one that allows an Opportunity attack if the enemy moves away from the spirit companion, it would not have worked in this instance. Forced movement does not provoke opportunity actions, which that shaman power is.

Quick correction: that shaman power DOES allow an opportunity attack, since it triggers when an enemy "leaves an adjacent square without shifting." It's a bit of an odd power -- it triggers on forced movement, but not on ranged attacks, which means you can't get free OA's by parking your spirit companion next to the enemy caster.
 

Quick correction: that shaman power DOES allow an opportunity attack, since it triggers when an enemy "leaves an adjacent square without shifting." It's a bit of an odd power -- it triggers on forced movement, but not on ranged attacks, which means you can't get free OA's by parking your spirit companion next to the enemy caster.

It does not work on forced movement. The reason it specifies that Shift doesn't trigger the attack is because shifting only stops Opportunity Attacks and Spirit's Fangs is an Opportunity Action. Forced movement, on the other hand, doesn't allow any Opportunity Attacks or any other Opportunity Actions.
 

It does not work on forced movement. The reason it specifies that Shift doesn't trigger the attack is because shifting only stops Opportunity Attacks and Spirit's Fangs is an Opportunity Action. Forced movement, on the other hand, doesn't allow any Opportunity Attacks or any other Opportunity Actions.

The type of movement has no bearing on an Opportunity Action. It is what triggers everyone's built in Opportunity Attack, and there are few ways to use an Opportunity Action except in movement situations, but the Opportunity Attack is what normally connects "movement" to "opportunity action" - saying an opportunity action is inherently is like saying a move action inherently means you leave your space.

An opportunity attack would be like this:
At-Will
Opportunity
Trigger: An enemy in a square you threatens uses a ranged or area attack which does not target you, or that enemy moves from their space without shifting
Effect: You can make a Melee Basic Attack against that target as a free action.

Hypothetically, an Opportunity Action could key off an entirely different trigger (eg, there could be an opportunity action that says "when another player forces an enemy to move into a space adjacent to you") but these tend to be given Immediate Interrupt action type instead of Opportunity.
 

Remove ads

Top