Hypersmurf said:
No, you could mimic a spell that you had researched according to the rules for researching a new spell, that might perhaps be a 5th level 15d6 Fireball, depending on whether your DM felt that it was a reasonable spell.
No research, no new spell.
-Hyp.
Not sure I buy that. Do you only let a sorcerer mimic a spell that she knows how to cast? That she's seen before?
What's the difference between a spell that's in the PH that she's never seen before, and a spell of the right level and effect that she's just made up? If you introduce a new expansion book into the campaign, is she allowed to them mimic spells from that book as well?
Gets messy pretty quickly
