Hand Crossbow

bertman4

First Post
So I had a question about hand crossbows. In the equipment section, it specifically says "You can shoot a hand crossbow with each hand, but you take a penalty on attack rolls as if attacking with two weapons." So as a full round action, I can fire off two shots with the hand crossbow. The attack roll penalties follow the two weapon fighting rules. That's fine. My question has to do with reloading. It says "You can shoot, but not load, a hand crossbow with one hand at no penalty." So to load a hand crossbow, you need two hands. Okay. What happens if your other hand is holding another hand crossbow? Does this mean to reload my hand crossbow I need to "sheathe" my 2nd hand crossbow (which is a move action) or drop it (free action)? If I "sheathe" my 2nd hand crossbow, then to reload that, I need to retrieve it (as a move action) the reload it (as a move action unless I have Rapid Reload feat)?

Bertman
 

log in or register to remove this ad

That looks right, yes.

Basically it makes an interesting way of saying hello before switching to your proper weapons.

Unless you use repeating hand X-bows or magic ones that reload automatically, however neither of those are core rules so you'll have to sweet talk the DM.
 

As a concept, put each hand Xbow on a thong or cord tied to your wrist, get Quickdraw, and Rapid Reload.

That way you shoudl be able to "juggle" the reloads: let go of one, reload it, let go of it, quickdraw the other, reload it, quickdraw the first.

Six free actions, so some GMs might quibble. But since you'
re spending two feats for the timing, and probably a third (Two Weapon Fighting) to offset penalties ... I don't see any real problemw ith being able to dual-wield hand crossbows, if you spend the three feats it'd take.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top