Hold the line and reach weapons (simon STAY OUT!!!)

AuraSeer said:
The limitation on a 5' Step is based on the distance you move, not on action type. Taking an MEA does not disqualify you from also making a 5' Step that round.

Example: You can draw a weapon (MEA), ready a shield (MEA), and take a 5' step, all in the same round. You would not draw any AoO at all for doing so.

"Stand Up From Prone" is listed as a MEA. By the book, the monk could stand up, take his 5' Step, and take his one attack on whoever tripped him. If you don't like that idea, you could rule that standing up counts as a Move action, and thus prevents a 5' Step; however, IMHO that would be a house rule.

I wes referring more to the creationof AoO's than to wether the monk COULD, or could not, attack at all. After all, normally if your "only" movement for the round is a 5-foot step/djustment ... you provoke no AoO's for your movement.

However, IMO at least, if you stand up and make that five-foot step, you haven't only moved that five feet. Not just an issue of MEA's, either; standing up requires gross physical movement to change the position/location of the character's body. Readying a weapon and/or shield do not. :cool:

Lastly, in any event it prevents the Monk from taking a full attack.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

However, IMO at least, if you stand up and make that five-foot step, you haven't only moved that five feet. Not just an issue of MEA's, either; standing up requires gross physical movement to change the position/location of the character's body.

Which is a fine opinion, but the rules don't consider standing up from prone to "moving" in the sense of counting against one's speed. In fact, the example given in the PHB of "If you have moved no distance, commonly because you have swapped your move for one or more MEAs" is stand up from prone, 5' step, attack.

The rule under MEA "if you have moved no actual distance you may take a 5' step", and the rule under AoOs "if your entire move for the round is 5'" refer to the same thing.

If you stand up from prone, you have 'moved no actual distance'. If you then move 5', your entire move for the round is 5', and you do not provoke an AoO.

-Hyp.
 

While this thread is going (which i should rename 'how to smackdown my monk player):

the problem is going to be that it takes a DC15 tumble roll to "tumble up to 20ft (as part of normal movement), suffering no attacks of opportunity while doing so" (PHB, pg 75).

Now this particular monk has a tumble of +10 (including ranks and mods).

Am i reading this wrong, or does this allow him to get within my reach weapon without provoking an AoO? And if I'm right, what can i do about it?
 

Am i reading this wrong, or does this allow him to get within my reach weapon without provoking an AoO? And if I'm right, what can i do about it?

You're right.

Tumble as written is ridiculously easy, and it's very unusual for a mid-level monk to fail a Tumble check. And often, if he does, the AoO misses anyway.

There are a few tumbling variants around - opposed Tumble checks, Tumble vs Reflex Save, Tumble vs Attack roll - instead of the 15/25 fixed DC in the Core rules.

-Hyp.
 

Can you use tumble as part of a charge? If you can and he usually does this, then your only choice I think is to have the bad guy ready a longspear against a charge and try to use knock-down or improved trip to keep him from finishing his charge.
 

WarRabbit said:
Can you use tumble as part of a charge? If you can and he usually does this, then your only choice I think is to have the bad guy ready a longspear against a charge and try to use knock-down or improved trip to keep him from finishing his charge.

well, i think i have let him use tumble as part of a charge before... and i can't see where it says i can't... maybe the bit about 'normal movement' in the tumble description.

but if he can, then the longspear won't stop him, cos there will be no AoO due to the tumble.
 

but if he can, then the longspear won't stop him, cos there will be no AoO due to the tumble.

Big difference between a readied attack and an AoO.

Tumble won't stop the set longspear readied to "Attack the first monk that tumbles into my threatened area"...

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:


Big difference between a readied attack and an AoO.

Tumble won't stop the set longspear readied to "Attack the first monk that tumbles into my threatened area"...

good point.
 

From what I understand for Hold the Line feat. If you successfully hit him, you stop him from continuing his movement.

Ergo back to example of spike chain and flying kick monk. Monk charges, and goes into flying kick. Spiked chain hits him at 10 feet and effectively brings his movement to a halt in that square, failing his attack.
Rest of his friends can now send in the arrows to pincushion the separated fighter/monk from the rest of his group while he looks on is surprise.

Now wouldn't it hurt if the one with the spiked chain has true strike prepared?????
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top