Huge Warhammer wielded by Medium Character

Fangor the Fierce said:
It's 3.5 rules, and yeah, tha Fire Giant had the same problem when he wielded it. Thanks for clearing it up. I will have to remember that I need to be large to use it, and its because it does some massive damage, as to why I would think of using it. 3d6+(STR mod x 1.5)

You know, the Goliath Greathammer from Races of Stone might be something for you to look into.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

IcyCool said:
A warhammer two size categories larger than its wielder is unusable without monkey grip (which would let you use it as a two-handed weapon at a penalty).

No, it wouldn't. A warhammer two size categories larger than its wielder is unusable whether or not you have Monkey Grip.

Monkey Grip only applies to weapons one size category larger than the wielder. It will let a Medium creature wield a Large greatsword in two hands, but not a Huge longsword. It affects Large Dagger, Large Shortsword, Large Longsword, Large Greatsword... but it has zero effect on Medium or Huge weapons (assuming a Medium wielder).

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
No, it wouldn't. A warhammer two size categories larger than its wielder is unusable whether or not you have Monkey Grip.

Monkey Grip only applies to weapons one size category larger than the wielder. It will let a Medium creature wield a Large greatsword in two hands, but not a Huge longsword. It affects Large Dagger, Large Shortsword, Large Longsword, Large Greatsword... but it has zero effect on Medium or Huge weapons (assuming a Medium wielder).

-Hyp.

My mistake. :)
 

Remove ads

Top