hunters quarry or curse on traps?????

new poster here can u curse or hunter's quarry a trap that has hit points?
rules are vague. under curse and quarry it says it can be placed on an enemy( per the rules, enemy= anyone not an ally)another section says anything that intends to hinder or harm is an enemy but very vague?????? please help???
 

log in or register to remove this ad

PHB p57: "Enemy" or "enemies" means a creature or creatures that aren’t your allies (whether those creatures are hostile toward you or not).

Enemies are creatures; a trap is not a creature, so it's not an enemy. It's an object.

I assume you are referencing p116 of the DMG, which mentions "Enemies oppose or hinder the characters." This sentence is in the secion on an adventure's cast of characters, though, and is not a rule redefining what is considered an enemy.

If a power says it can target an object, you can use your power on it. Additionally, per the PHB errata, "At the DM’s discretion, a power that targets a creature can also target an object, whether or not the power lists an object as a potential target."

Hunter's Quarry and Warlock's Curse both target enemies, not objects. And both are class features, not technicially powers. So by the rules, either no, you can't use them on traps, or you can only use them on traps with the DM's permission.
 

In one of the games I played at Gen Con, a paladin's player tried to Divine Challenge a trap ... The DM slapped that down pretty hard. :)
 
Last edited:



PHB p57: "Enemy" or "enemies" means a creature or creatures that aren’t your allies (whether those creatures are hostile toward you or not).

Enemies are creatures; a trap is not a creature, so it's not an enemy. It's an object.

It's at the DM's discretion.

From the eratta:
Target [Addition]
Player’s Handbook, page 57
Add the following sentences to the end of the first aragraph: “Some powers include objects as targets. At the DM’s discretion, a power that targets a creature can also target an object, whether or not the power lists an object as a potential target.”
 

It's at the DM's discretion.

From the eratta:
Target [Addition]
Player’s Handbook, page 57
Add the following sentences to the end of the first aragraph: “Some powers include objects as targets. At the DM’s discretion, a power that targets a creature can also target an object, whether or not the power lists an object as a potential target.”
Which is exactly what the fourth paragraph of my message (the part you failed to quote) said.
 


Low dexterity?


cheers

+5 is still +5.
Aid other is still Aid other. With a party of +0 to dex goombas, that's still the capability of getting some bonuses on that role. It's not like thievery's a hard roll to make under the new skill roll rules. +5 to hit DC 10 (medium) or 15 (hard) isn't exactly difficult country.


Usually it's easier to just Skill your way past the trap than to brute force it.
 
Last edited:

+5 is still +5.
Aid other is still Aid other. With a party of +0 to dex goombas, that's still the capability of getting some bonuses on that role. It's not like thievery's a hard roll to make under the new skill roll rules. +5 to hit DC 10 (medium) or 15 (hard) isn't exactly difficult country.


Usually it's easier to just Skill your way past the trap than to brute force it.

Oh, I wish this was true. Traps haven't been errataed to fit the new skill challenge rules yet, have they? So traps like the "Magic Crossbow Turret" trap (level 3) require SIX successes at DC 20, before you make three failures.

That's a very different proposition to what I've quoted, doubly so if you consider that you'll be getting shot at by the trap while you try to disarm it, as well as being attacked by the rest of the encounter the trap is a part of.
 

Remove ads

Top