Hydras and Lightning

klofft said:
we knew what square the monk entered the (erroneous) grapple with the hydra, and the lightning bolt didn't travel through it, so I'm content with it not hitting him.
Strictly by the rules, that would be incorrect. Grapplers occupy the same space. From the RotG:
"You share your foe's space when you're grappling. If you and your foe are different sizes, use the larger of the two space entries. Any attack that can reach the shared space can hit you."

(Of course, it doesn't really matter, as this situation won't happen again.)
The shared space rules can come into play if a larger creature decides to grapple one of your PCs, or when a PC is mounted.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Hypersmurf said:
Well, it depends on whether one considers RotG to be 'the rules' or not
It appears to be a (legitimate) clarification of the "you must move into the target’s space" grappling rule. Sharing space is handled pretty consistently in D&D.
 


Being denied your dex bonus to AC has nothing with it being denied to Ref saves. Even if you're flatfooted, your Ref save stays the same.
 


Sithobi1 said:
Being denied your dex bonus to AC has nothing with it being denied to Ref saves. Even if you're flatfooted, your Ref save stays the same.

Though remember, you must have 'room to move' in order to use Evasion.

I would suggest that someone who is pinned is in the same position as someone who is bound - unable to use Evasion.

Someone who is grappled but not pinned... I could see arguments either way.

(And, of course, keep in mind that you must have room to move in order to use Evasion... as with a Reflex Save for any creature.)

-Hyp.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top