Immobilized?

tlarham

First Post
I cannot find an answer to this question in my PHB.

In our last game, we captured a warlock and bound him soundly. When I tried to question him, he tried to attack with a warlock invocation. The opportunity attack knocked him out before he could fire anything off...but there was some debate as to whether or not you can use powers while immobilized.

There is nothing in the conditions section that mentions casting ability, nor is there a ruling in the Warlock section.

Is this a case of, "It doesn't say you can't so you can?"

Never thought I would miss Components: S

-- T.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Immobilized just means you can't leave the square.

A captured and bound Warlock is not immobilized.... but rather is restrained.

Heck, if you do it right, the Warlock could even be helpless.

Time to use Discern Lies.
 

Mort is right. I would rule that if the party did a good job tying up the Warlock, he counts as helpless, since restrained only imposes a -2 penalty to attacks.
 

"Immobilized" means you can't leave your square but are pretty much unaffected otherwise.

"Restrained" means you can't leave your square, and take a -2 penalty of attacks, but are pretty much unaffected otherwise.

"Helpless" is what you're after...
 



I think what tlarham meant is that the helpless condition doesn't prevent the helpless person from casting spells or taking any other actions. Creatures are most often helpless because they're unconscious, which prevents taking actions, but helpless in and of itself doesn't.

I think it's up to the DM to assume that a character who is totally tied up can't take certain actions, and it's up to the DM to decide for their game whether or not the prohibited actions include using certain powers.
 

Blindfold the warlock.. takes away line of sight, means he has problem determing the square to cast an spell..

Oh and an warlock cant curse anyone they cant see...
 

Remove ads

Top