occam
Hero
Does a totem require it be held in hand to use? If so where does it say that? If if so, what's up with the long spear prof? Seems odd...
I agree, and house-ruled that totems must be held, but can be dropped and re-equipped as a free action, typically by tying it around one's neck, waist, arm, or weapon. Otherwise proficiency with two-handed weapons like a longspear or quarterstaff becomes kind of pointless.
How does the spirit companion (hereafter SC) move? Can it move over pits? Water? Can it fly? Can it climb?
As conjurations "can float in the air", I play it having full three-dimensional mobility.