log in or register to remove this ad

 

UA Impression of the U/A Psi Knight in play

prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
This is the Resilient Feat per the 10th printing of the PHB:
RESILIENT
--- ----
Choose one ability score. You gain the following benefits:
• Increase the chosen ability score by 1, to a maximum of 20.
You gain proficiency in saving throws using the chosen ability.


Unless it is hidden by an Illusionary Script spell, I am not seeing verbiage indicting the is eligible to be selected more than once.

As I stated before, not being able to select a feat more than once, (unless specifically excepted), is an oft overlooked rule.
And it's not in the errata.

It's possible that someone (or some table) is interpreting, e.g., Resilient (Con) and Resilient (Wis) as different feats. That's not how I read the feat, but I can see someone interpreting it that way.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Dausuul

Legend
And it's not in the errata.

It's possible that someone (or some table) is interpreting, e.g., Resilient (Con) and Resilient (Wis) as different feats. That's not how I read the feat, but I can see someone interpreting it that way.
This may be due to D&D Beyond treating them as separate feats. Odd, since DDB certainly has the capacity to allow choices when you select a feat (e.g., Spell Sniper lets you pick a spell from a drop-down).
 

prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
This may be due to D&D Beyond treating them as separate feats. Odd, since DDB certainly has the capacity to allow choices when you select a feat (e.g., Spell Sniper lets you pick a spell from a drop-down).
There are reasons I'm perpetually tempted to ban D&D Beyond from my tables--I don't have it myself--and this might go on the pile.
 

Dausuul

Legend
There are reasons I'm perpetually tempted to ban D&D Beyond from my tables--I don't have it myself--and this might go on the pile.
I do have it, and it's too dang useful for me to ban it, but it sure would be nice if it gave the DM more ability to filter and control what's allowed in their games by default. And, in this case, it would be nice if it followed the actual game rules.
 

Undrave

Hero
This may be due to D&D Beyond treating them as separate feats. Odd, since DDB certainly has the capacity to allow choices when you select a feat (e.g., Spell Sniper lets you pick a spell from a drop-down).
Personally I think it should be errata'd to work that way. It would make sense that you could spend all your feat on saving throw proficiencies like that. I don't think it would really unbalance anything.

Monks get proficiency in all the saving throws as one chunk after all.
 

prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
Personally I think it should be errata'd to work that way. It would make sense that you could spend all your feat on saving throw proficiencies like that. I don't think it would really unbalance anything.

Monks get proficiency in all the saving throws as one chunk after all.
It's not an unreasonable houserule, I agree, but it is a houserule at this point.
 

Undrave

Hero
It's not an unreasonable houserule, I agree, but it is a houserule at this point.
Sure, it's just weird it's not how it is to begin with. Heck, do the Weapon Master and Skilled feat even mention being able to take them multiple times?
 

prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
Sure, it's just weird it's not how it is to begin with. Heck, do the Weapon Master and Skilled feat even mention being able to take them multiple times?
Nope. I think (not looking at the moment) that the only feat with the exception is Elemental Adept.
 

Undrave

Hero
Nope. I think (not looking at the moment) that the only feat with the exception is Elemental Adept.
Caster bias :p not that anybody would even take Weapon Master to begin with... but I feel like 'Skilled', 'Linguist' and 'Martial Adept' should all be stackable. Same with the different Resilient. Feats are just too rare for there to be that much abuse in picking them multiple times.
 

Are you sure? I just looked (because I thought I remembered differently) and the only feat in the PHB that can be taken more than once is Energy Adept. Resilient specifically does not have the text allowing it to be taken multiple times. I haven't checked the errata yet, but that's my next step.
Apologies, misremembered. Should have double-checked like I did for the general rule. You can only take Resilience once, the only feat I can find that you can take more than once is Elemental Adept.
 

prabe

Aspiring Lurker (He/Him)
Supporter
Apologies, misremembered. Should have double-checked like I did for the general rule. You can only take Resilience once, the only feat I can find that you can take more than once is Elemental Adept.
Don't worry about it--it's an easy mistake to make, between being a reasonable houserule and (apparently) D&D Beyond not handling it correctly.
 

Mythological Figures & Maleficent Monsters

Advertisement2

Advertisement4

Top