Incantatrix that is already specialized

Skaros

First Post
Hi,

Say my 5th level Illusionist takes a level of Incantatrix.

He is now specialized in two schools, effectively, and must have at least two opposition schools now, right?

1. Does he get to memorize two extra spells each day, one of which must be from Illusion, and one must be from Abjuration?

2. As he gains levels after that....I guess he still gets two free spells each level he advances as Incantatrix, right? So does one have to be from Illusion? Does one have to be from Abjuration? How does this work when there are two specialties?

Lets discuss :-)

-Skaros
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Okay, here's the way it works...

You gain the specialization of Abjuration while retaining the specialization to Illusion magic. You must take additional prohibited schools as described in School Specialization under Abjuration (PHB, 54). You cannot take a school already prohibited to you OR the Illusion school OR Transmutation. You can no longer cast spells from this/these schools (or use them from scrolls or wands), but you retain the ability to use any such spells that ALREADY know.

(Question #1) You get ONE bonus spell of every level that can either be used for Illusion spells or Abjuration spells. You do not get one for each. You also gain a +2 to Spellcraft checks to learn Abjuration spells.

(Question #2) I imagine you would get to choose either Illusion or Abjuration for one of your spells and then freely pick the other spell.
 

Jaligard, that sounds logical. Anyone have thoughts to the contrary?

nwn_deadman: sorry, I guess I'm missing your joke.

Crothian: That would also be logical, if supported by the Incantatrix class description, but it isnt. There is no requirement that the wizard taking the PrC can't be previously specialized, and not only that, the Incantatrix description says you take "additional" prohibited schools beyond any you arleady have (from specialization).

-Skaros
 

(I can't find the Incantatrix anywhere, but it sounds familiar. Where is it from?)

If you go by Jaligard's suggestion I'd say that you definitely should loose the ability to cast spells from schools that are forbidden to you - even if you know them. A forbidden school is a forbidden school. You no longer have those spells on your spell list.
 

I'd say you cannot cast even the spells you've already learned from your opposition school.

The actual language on specialization could be interpreted either way, but I think the intent is you have no spells from teh opposition schools, period. That's backed up by the fect that you cannot even use scrolls - what happens is that your spell list changes, and those spells are not on your list any more, so you can't use them at all.

That's the way I'd rule, anyway.
 

The incantrix is from Forgotten realms Magic of Faerun.

I don't have it in front of me but the red wizard class picks up a prohibited school and they specifically keep ones they already know.

Skaros, could you post the relevant text of the class?
 

Artoomis said:
I'd say you cannot cast even the spells you've already learned from your opposition school.

The actual language on specialization could be interpreted either way, but I think the intent is you have no spells from teh opposition schools, period. That's backed up by the fect that you cannot even use scrolls - what happens is that your spell list changes, and those spells are not on your list any more, so you can't use them at all.

That's the way I'd rule, anyway.

If I remember correctly, the incantrix does specifically say you can still use the spells you had learned in your new opposition school, but you can not learn anything new in that school. As far as wands, scrolls and the like. I'm not entirely sure about that. I would allow the character to use them if and only if the spells in question were already known by the pc. Anything outside her knowledge is a no go.

HTH :)

Edit ---> Voadam posted just before me with the same thing, but you can verify the wording on the incantrix for yourself. It was posted on the wotc website, as a free preview of magic of faerun.
 
Last edited:

Jaligard has got it right.

My mistake about prohibited scholls, because here's how it works:
School Specialization: Upon becoming an incantatrix, the character chooses to focus her studies on protective and metamagic, forsaking other types of spells. In effect, the incantatrix is a specialist in the school of Abjuration (gaining all the benefits of specializing in a school), and the incantatrix must choose an additional prohibited school or schools using the rules on page 54 of the Player's Handbook (although an incantatrix can never choose Transmutation as an opposed school). The incantatrix can never again learn spells from that prohibited school or schools. She can still use the prohibited spells she knew prior to becoming an incantatrix, including using items that are activated by spell completion or spell trigger. If the incantatrix already is a wizard specialized in Abjuration, she does not need to choose another prohibited school. A bard or sorcerer who becomes an incantatrix must still choose a prohibited school to gain the benefits of specialization.

I was writing without the rules, always a bad move.
 

Remove ads

Top