Ioun Stone - Vibrant Purple Prism

Krystoff

First Post
Ok, say you are a 20th level wizard and you have a vibrant purple prism Ioun stone. You then cast a Greater Magic Weapon into the stone and later that same day you cast it out again.

When it goes in, it gives a +5, what does the spell give when it comes out? +1 or +5?

IE, when you cast a spell out of an Ioun Stone (Or other spell storing device) does it then become a spell of the lowest level you could cast it? In the Greater Magic Weapon example, a 5th level caster instead of a 20th level caster?

Just curious how that works.

Chris
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Spells from a storing item are at minimum caster level. This is specified in the description of the Ring Of Spell Storing.
 





Sejs said:
Could you store a spell that's been modified with metamagic in a spell storing item?
Yes. It takes up room as a spell of its higher, metamagic level, but its save DC is at its normal level. (It's similar to crafting a magic item.)

E.g., a maximized fireball takes up space as a 6th-level spell, and comes out at caster level 11. It has save DC 14, the same as for an equivalent scroll.
 

Spells from a storing item are at minimum caster level. This is specified in the description of the Ring Of Spell Storing.

It should be noted that the description of the Ring of Spell Storing specifies that spells from a Ring of Spell Storing are at minimum caster level.

The Ioun Stone description directs you to the description of the Ring for an explanation of who can cast the stored spells; it can certainly be argued that that direction also implies the caster level limitation applies to the Ioun Stone as well.

The Spell Storing weapon special ability in no way references the Ring, and makes no mention of caster level being lowered to the minimum.

It is, of course, reasonable for a DM to rule that it follows the same rules as the Ring; it is also, however, by the wording, reasonable for him to rule that it does not.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hm... hadn't notice that minimum caster level bit before. Makes that ring much less useful than it could be otherwise for that price. You might as well get the rings of wizardry instead.
 

Yes. It takes up room as a spell of its higher, metamagic level, but its save DC is at its normal level. (It's similar to crafting a magic item.)

E.g., a maximized fireball takes up space as a 6th-level spell, and comes out at caster level 11. It has save DC 14, the same as for an equivalent scroll.


Cool, so you could use Highten Spell to curb that minimum caster level nonsense then.

I knew there would be some good use for that feat somewhere. Thank you, AuraSeer
 

Remove ads

Top