Is Forced Movement Inherently Breakable?

doesn't the switch places works a bit like this

T = big bad in this case a 9 square monster x = the ground P = the player who is going to be switching places

xxxxxx
xxTTT
xxTTTP
xxTTT
xxxxxx

switcheroo

xxxxxx
xxxTTT
xxPTTT
xxxTTT
xxxxxx

So the player has the beast partially off the land but only by one space, as T moves forward to occupy the players place and the player occupies the place next to the monster which it vacated. So this would work for the a medium/small/smaller creature which would get its save when this happend but not for bigger foes
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Vaeron said:
Doesn't make sense when they're hitting an enemy through bars, or fighting a gelatinous cube, or any other enemy that is behind an obstruction or IS the obstruction. But the power simply states that the effect occurs, without exception.

DM call. House rule. Common sense. Whatever you want to call it. Simply say the power doesn't work in the above situations.
 

Switching places through bars doesn't work. Its simple, nothing happens. Duh situations that any DM knows don't work are fine. Moving larger monsters is more like luring them, suprising them into backing up, etc. Theres no problem I see, as long as you do it in game, and not by the book. Theres a reason for the DM that goes beyond setting up fights, or describing the story. This isn't a computer program, after all
 

Raduin711 said:
It is worth mentioning that "Hindering Terrain" does not mean things like bushes, rocks, or unstable footing. Those would be in the category of "Difficult Terrain".

Ah. Thanks for the heads up about the pertinent rules in the DMG.

So in the case of a power that does damage if a creature leaves a square, forced movement would allow a save even though it isn't specifically "hindering terrain?" I still haven't seen a rule that disallows those sorts of combos.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top