Is this combo as broken as I think it is?

KarinsDad said:
It is unusual at best and could take the PCs by surprise the first time until they figure it out.

The archmage case does not really allow for the "polymorphed wizard tactics" since enemy fighter types can get in and attack normally (their offensive magic is not suppressed in the unaffected square of the wizard).

How are they moving into the square of the wizard without grappling? IIRC, unless the wizard is two size categories larger, than the opponent, the opponent cannot occupy the same space. Grappling is a fine option but for the fact that a simple Grease spell is going to make it difficult for most grapplers (excluding monks) to be effective - and if they fail at their grapple attempt, they are back in the 5' square they moved from - hence no magical equipment. We can ignore the AM-F for the grapple attempt - sure. However, the wizard can fairly easily avoid it if he is specifically planning against it.

KarinsDad said:
Plus, since it is entire squares, something as simple as Greater Magic Arrows can defeat it. It does, however, allow for leaving a tunnel to the wizard so that he can cast out, but if there is a tunnel out, there is a tunnel in.

Gust of Wind

No Tunnel is necessary - just move yourself into position so that your own square is in the area of effect.

KarinsDad said:
The ESA case (if allowed) does not allow for casting out of the area, so the wizard is limited to "polymorphed wizard tactics". No Shouting at the roof of the cave to collapse it tactics in the ESA case. No Quicken Dispel Magic underwater in the ESA case. Hence, a lot of spells have to be cast to make the wizard an effective fighter type (AC boost spells, Polymorph, Tensor's Transformation, etc.).

Not sure what you are talking about. You don't need to cast outside your own square in any of these cases. Move to the roof so that the area you want to affect is in your own square. Alternatively, shape the top of the AM-F so that unless your opponent knows to be flying and to be directly above you, they are still hosed.

Why are you disallowing quickened dispel magic? Your opponent grapples you and then while grappling you cast it. That is why I said stilled or quickened - so that you could cast in the grapple.

If you want to use the grapple tactic, all you really need is polymorph, divine might (from limited wish), bull's strength, and enlarge person to pretty much guarantee grapple checks regardless of whether your opponent gets his magic or not. However, as I have already indicated, the grapple tactic is not the first tactic I would use.

KarinsDad said:
Plus, a DM might rule that the Antimagic Field has to be cast last (he might rule that you cannot cast in the Antimagic Field, even if you are not affected by it yourself).

Talking about RAW, not house rules here.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Is there some reason that pelting the wizard with magic arrows won't kill him? Or walking up to him and swinging your sword at him, assuming the sword while attacking the wizard gets all its bonuses back?

Besides, it seems in that other thread that Antimagic Field doesn't block LoE so I'd just start blasting the wizard with spells.
 

Gaiden said:
How are they moving into the square of the wizard without grappling? IIRC, unless the wizard is two size categories larger, than the opponent, the opponent cannot occupy the same space.

When you swing a weapon, you do not need to be in the opponent's space. Your weapon will be in the opponent's square and that is all you need in the Archmage shaping case.

Gaiden said:
Gust of Wind

No Tunnel is necessary - just move yourself into position so that your own square is in the area of effect.

Gust of Wind will not work if there is no tunnel. The Line of Effect of Gust of Wind will be stopped by the Antimagic Field.

Gaiden said:
Not sure what you are talking about. You don't need to cast outside your own square in any of these cases. Move to the roof so that the area you want to affect is in your own square. Alternatively, shape the top of the AM-F so that unless your opponent knows to be flying and to be directly above you, they are still hosed.

Why are you disallowing quickened dispel magic? Your opponent grapples you and then while grappling you cast it. That is why I said stilled or quickened - so that you could cast in the grapple.

If you want to use the grapple tactic, all you really need is polymorph, divine might (from limited wish), bull's strength, and enlarge person to pretty much guarantee grapple checks regardless of whether your opponent gets his magic or not. However, as I have already indicated, the grapple tactic is not the first tactic I would use.

Remember, we are talking about the ESA case here. The caster's square is still in the Antimagic Field, he is just not affected by it (as per the RAW of ESA).

In the ESA case, your opponent is in an Antimagic Field and your Quickened Dispel Magic will not work on him, even if he is grappling you.

Gaiden said:
Talking about RAW, not house rules here.

Yes we are.

You appear to be confusing/combining the Archmage shaping with the ESA shaping. They are two different effects with two different set of limitations.

The Archmage case has entire 5 foot squares that are not affected by the spell.

The ESA case only has the creature not affected by the spell.

Because of this, you get different results in what is allowed and not allowed.
 

Remove ads

Top