Is this PHB errata?

Every multi-class divine or arcane feat in PHB2 and PHB3 that gives access to the MC's implements allows unrestricted use of those implements. Those in the PHB restrict usage to powers of the class into which you are multi-classing. Arcane Initiate (wizard PHB MC feat) was 'errata-ed' to allow general usage of wizard implements, but the warlock, paladin, and cleric MC powers haven't been. An oversight?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Actually the general rule was changed to "MCing into a class allows you to use that classes implements for that classes powers and paragon path powers." So the specific rule in each feat was no longer needed. There was never unrestricted use.

Now someone is going to come in and point to the recently printed Player's Strategy Guide (which specifically says in the introduction is not a rulebook) and point out that that PSG says if you MC into a class you can use their implements (which I believe one of the developers twittered was a mistake and is on the short list for correction).
 








That a year old FAQ doesn't overrule a FAQ released in hard copy a couple weeks ago.

If a rules change in a more current product was actually a rules change, than yes, it would override rules or FAQs from a year ago. But WotC designers have explicitly stated that isn't the case here - a writer wrote that sidebar without realizing how the implement rules worked, and made an incorrect statement.

And a year old FAQ does, indeed, overrule an incorrect statement released a few weeks ago.
 

Remove ads

Top