Is Wall of Thorns as utterly broken as it seems to be?

Infiniti2000 said:
DR only applies against wall of thorns if you don't consider wall of thorns to be a spell. DR doesn't apply.

If a spell specifies a damage type (piercing, slashing, bludgeoning), it is normal damage (which DR is effective against). The thorns deal slashing damage. Every DR except for DR/slashing is effective.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

IcyCool said:
If a spell specifies a damage type (piercing, slashing, bludgeoning), it is normal damage (which DR is effective against). The thorns deal slashing damage. Every DR except for DR/slashing is effective.
It doesn't matter what kind of damage it specifies, unless it is energy damage and then resist energy and the like applies. As for DR, let me quote the relevant sentence, "The creature takes normal damage from ... spells...." It's crystal clear with no gray area.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
It doesn't matter what kind of damage it specifies, unless it is energy damage and then resist energy and the like applies. As for DR, let me quote the relevant sentence, "The creature takes normal damage from ... spells...." It's crystal clear with no gray area.

So stabbing someone with a dagger created with major creation gets past DR? Good to know.

Edit - Check out Ring of Blades from Complete Arcane, and the bludgeoning damage you can deal with Meteor Swarm. Also, ask yourself why they bother to describe the type of damage (bludgeoning, slashing, or piercing), if it doesn't matter in the slightest.
 
Last edited:



IcyCool said:
So stabbing someone with a dagger created with major creation gets past DR? Good to know.
Is the spell dealing the damage?

IcyCool said:
Edit - Check out Ring of Blades from Complete Arcane, and the bludgeoning damage you can deal with Meteor Swarm. Also, ask yourself why they bother to describe the type of damage (bludgeoning, slashing, or piercing), if it doesn't matter in the slightest.
The bludgeoning damage from meteor swarm or ice storm bypasses DR because they're spells. As for why they describe the type of damage, I don't know. Perhaps some creature might take extra damage from it. Perhaps there's another reason.

Ask yourself what happens if you cast ice storm on a creature and fail to overcome it's SR. Does the bludgeoning damage still apply? If it's a spell like I say, then it does not. If you say the bludgeoning is not a spell then the SR is irrelevant for that portion, right? Otherwise, you have a glaring inconsistency. So, which is it? Does SR apply to the whole ice storm or not?
 

Pickaxe said:
Does DR apply to the attacks of a summoned monster?
Is the spell dealing the damage?

If I bull rush you off a cliff and I don't have magical natural weapons, does your DR/magic apply to the fall? According to your implied hidden meaning in the question you asked, you'd rule that the DR/magic does apply.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
Is the spell dealing the damage?

If I bull rush you off a cliff and I don't have magical natural weapons, does your DR/magic apply to the fall? According to your implied hidden meaning in the question you asked, you'd rule that the DR/magic does apply.

Yes DR applies when I fall. Regardless of wether you use a magic weapon to push me over or I jump. I still get my DR at the bottom of the fall. The earth is causing the damage and will not bypass DR/magic. I'd rule it to bypass DR/bludgeoning though.

And I agree with PickAxe. A summoned monster bypasses damage as the monster. Its a conjuration spell. So is Wall of Thorns. Therefore the thorns are present. The only part that sorta confuses this is the whole 'its not a normal plant' part.

As for SR & DR mixing, I see it like making your save vs. fireball. You now take 1/2 damage. But I still have energy resistance 10, so knock that off the damage too.
-cpd
 


andargor said:
Uh oh, the whole spell dealing damage vs. DR discussion again... :D

Andargor

Whee! ;)

And to answer your question infinity, no, I do not think that a dagger created via Major Creation bypasses DR. However, anytime a spell lists the damage it deals as piercing, slashing, or bludgeoning, I assume that to be more than a mistake and treat it as the only thing it could be (IMO), normal nonmagical damage. So yes, that could lead to a wizard casting Ice Storm on a Drow, beating its spell resistance, and then having the bludgeoning damage it deals potentially negatable by DR. You see this as inconsistency, I do not. :)
 

Remove ads

Top