Island Empire, Part III, The Lich's Curse


log in or register to remove this ad

Fight

Rousing himself from his thougts, Geoffrey quickly drinks a potion of water breathing....Geoffrey then dives from the quarterdeck into the water in search of H'Rossh, his mace glowing with the power of the sun as he does so.
 

H'Roosh gets in a good blow. Radoon also manages to attack the strange elemental creature fighting H'Roosh, but fails to spot the shark creature closing in on him. However, it is nearly blasted from the water by Gnurl and Zurrik and the thing isn't able to hit Radoon as it suddenly regurgitates half a dead crewman.

Geoffrey enters the water with his glowing mace clearing some of the gloom. The tentacled creature remains somewhat shadowy even in this great light.

In the light the size of the huge creature becomes apparent. It attacks (1d20+14=23, 1d20+14=30) H'Roosh landing a blow (2d6+8=13). The tentacle tries to grab H'Roosh (make and opposed Grapple Check (1d20+23=30)).

Radoon finds he must return to the surface or begin drowning.

Geoffrey sees the creature and may attack next round.

Those still on the ships can now see the two enemies well below the surface thanks to Geoffrey, but you will need to make attacks that can penetrate 20' of water.


OOC: Actions for the next round?
 

H'Roosh

OOC:

Why bother? I can't win it - even if IC condescends to grant me a Natural 20 I can't get higher than a 28.

I suppose this is one of those creatures that doesn't provoke at Attack of Opportunity when it grapples, too.

Am I reading the rules correctly? Can I attack this thing while it has me grappled? Although, the way I read it that also requires an opposed grapple check, so he's got a +15 advantage over me to hit me or to avoid being hit by me.
 


OOC:

Why bother? I can't win it - even if IC condescends to grant me a Natural 20 I can't get higher than a 28.

I suppose this is one of those creatures that doesn't provoke at Attack of Opportunity when it grapples, too.

Am I reading the rules correctly? Can I attack this thing while it has me grappled? Although, the way I read it that also requires an opposed grapple check, so he's got a +15 advantage over me to hit me or to avoid being hit by me.

You need not make a grapple check to attack with an unarmed strike, natural attack or light weapon. You will be at -4 to hit however. You can find a nice summary of the grapple rules here:

http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/specialAttacks.htm#grapple

You have a few other options such as activating magic items as well.

This critter does indeed have improved grab, which lets it start a grapple without getting attack of opportunitied.
 





Remove ads

Top