L1 Ranger reading scroll

Wraith-Hunter

First Post
I have a question, this is based on info in the SRD.

1. If you buy a scroll (say of cure light wounds) do you have to have a use read magic or make a spell craft check to determine what is says? I would say yes but not sure (lets assume the merchant is honest)

2. Lets say they pass the check. As rangers have the spell on their list but at 1st level they don't have a caster level. Can they even use it? If so would you just apply a -3 to the roll to activate it?

I would rule that they need to decipher it, then theyhave to beat the DC 5 check to cast it with a -3 penalty. Am I missing something?

Thanks
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Wraith-Hunter said:
As rangers have the spell on their list but at 1st level they don't have a caster level.

No - they don't have a caster level which happens to be 0; rather, they simply don't have a caster level. So they can't make a caster level check.

They are as much a spellcaster as a fighter is, until level 4.

A wand, on the other hand, they can use, since they have a class list... which is all that is required to activate a wand.

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top