Shadowdweller
Explorer
It IS quite amusing that so many people here have decided that following the FAQ constitutes making up House Rules.
Shadowdweller said:It IS quite amusing that so many people here have decided that following the FAQ constitutes making up House Rules.
Dimensional said:Just going through this thread and seeing some of the arguments..
anyway HAving looked through it.
according to raw if you cleave you can only target a creature - Yes?
so say my character drops Ememy A
the only other enemy is wizard B who happens to have his Mirror Image up, he has 3 figments within my Reach.
Now By dropping A I get to cleave (assuming Ihave the feat) The only Creature I can target is the Caster B because I can't target his figmenst. So I automaticaly opick him out of his figments?
Seems a bit odd (but then so does the rest of the discussion)
Or am I missing something?
KarinsDad said:If the FAQ flat out disagrees with RAW, then it is a House Rule. Or
KarinsDad said:Yes. You missed the part where Mirror Image states that you MUST select from images as well as the caster when doing targeting the caster. You do not get a choice. Hence, if you (randomly) select incorrectly, the Cleave does not get to happen since your selected target is not a creature.
That is the theory... sort of... but that is not what happened. This is in no way a 'clarification', it is a 'change'. And they don't even label it as a change, they seem to treat it as if that is what the rules say, and they are simply clarifying. They give no indication that they are even aware that it is a change.RigaMortus2 said:It's not disagreeing, it's clarifying. The FAQ is basically saying "We did not think of this when we first wrote the rules. Now that this question was brought to our attention and we had time to think about it, this is how you should officially play it." "It" being Cleave vs Mirror Images.
Says you.KarinsDad said:If the FAQ flat out disagrees with RAW, then it is a House Rule. Or minimally a new WotC rule. The problem with the FAQ is that it does not agree with RAW in several circumstances. In fact, the FAQ does not always agree with the FAQ.
RigaMortus2 said:It's not disagreeing, it's clarifying. The FAQ is basically saying "We did not think of this when we first wrote the rules. Now that this question was brought to our attention and we had time to think about it, this is how you should officially play it." "It" being Cleave vs Mirror Images.
Shadowdweller said:Furthermore, let's not pretend that the RAW itself is without self-contradiction. Take for instance the case of enhancement bonuses and hardness/hit points. The DMG magic item section gives us two conflicting versions of how an Enhancement bonus affects hardness/hit points (one of which is a direct copy of the 3.0 language). The errata does not correct this conflict...though it DOES appear on p.24 of the FAQ (I believe it references a passage in the PHB with repeats the newer of the two versions).
Why not? By your reasoning it cannot correct this. And anyone who chooses one of those two versions is by definition making a House Rule.
Shadowdweller said:The fact is, much of the hyperliteralist arguments I see on these boards for particular, tortured game mechanics go well beyond the precedent of effort and precision the game designers and WotC employees have shown time and again. It would seem to make much more sense to simply admit that there are vague or ambiguous areas in the rules than to come up with horrendously contorted feats of language to support one's personal opinion.