Mounted Combat and Full Attack With Bow


log in or register to remove this ad

brehobit said:
I think Hyper would agree that in normal movement if the mount's movement provokes, both the mount and the rider draw an AoO.

If the mount moves in such a way that he leaves a threatened square, he provokes an AoO. Since the rider occupies the same space, he also provokes an AoO for leaving the same threatened square. (Unless he is, for example, using his mount as Cover per the Ride skill.)

-Hyp.
 

brehobit said:
I'd would however argue that the rider would provoke when he moved away. The horse may be withdrawing, but the rider isn't. That provokes:



The rider is moving and not withdrawing. So unless something else prevents the AoO, the rider would provoke. I realize this isn't exactly what the OP was asking, but I think it is what he was trying to get at.

Mark

The rider isn't moving, the horse is. ;P
 

Drowbane said:
The rider isn't moving, the horse is. ;P

Someone who is bull-rushed out of his square provokes an AoO for leaving it.

The AoO is provoked for leaving the threatened square; it's not specified that it has to be under your own power.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
The reason you incur no AoO is because the horse's Withdraw action causes the square you're in to not be considered threatened, so you can leave it with no problem. The fact that this also causes the horse to not provoke an AoO has no bearing on whether or not you do.

-Hyp.

The view that "the square you start the move is not considered to be threatened" applies to something other than AoOs against your own movement sounds somewhat bizarre. Strictly, that means that a wizard can move later to that square and cast spells without provoking AoOs.
 

Let's back up a second here. This might clarify the situation--was the rider using a bow the round before the "horse disengaged"? In my mind, if the rider was engaged with the opponent with say a sword, and continues to fight with the sword until the horse disengages, at which point the rider whips out a bow, AoO should not apply.
 

Someone said:
The view that "the square you start the move is not considered to be threatened" applies to something other than AoOs against your own movement sounds somewhat bizarre. Strictly, that means that a wizard can move later to that square and cast spells without provoking AoOs.

And before anyone says this only applies during your one turn, what about a Readied Action? I could imagine the following:

Jack says, after taking some damage: "Hey Jill, I'm going getting out of here!"

Jill, being the clever rules lawyer she is, says, "I ready an action to move through the "unthreatened" square that Jack vacates as soon as he moves 10 feet"

Jack moves - a 60-feet "Withdraw." But, as soon as he moves 10 feet, Jill interrupts his action and moves thorgh the square he left that is "unthreatened" by virtue of his Withdrawal action.

I hope everyone realizes that this is pure nonsense.
 
Last edited:

taliesin15 said:
Let's back up a second here. This might clarify the situation--was the rider using a bow the round before the "horse disengaged"? In my mind, if the rider was engaged with the opponent with say a sword, and continues to fight with the sword until the horse disengages, at which point the rider whips out a bow, AoO should not apply.

Which AoO?

The movement-related one?
The changing weapons one?
The firing a ranged weapon in melee one?
 

Artoomis said:
And before anyone says this only applies during your onw turn...

I'm a barbarian who's just entered an evil chapel. I need to drop a talisman on the altar, but the room is guarded by a zombie.
Code:
---------
|.....[color=Gray]Z[/color].|
|......[color=White]@[/color][color=Brown]+[/color]####
|.......|   ##
|.......|    ####
|._.....|
|.......|
---------
I take the Withdraw action, so the square I start in (green) is not threatened; the zombie gets no AoO. I make my way to the altar, and drop the talisman as a free action.
Code:
---------
|.....[color=Gray]Z[/color].|
|......[color=Green].[/color][color=Brown]+[/color]####
|.....[color=Red].[/color].|   ##
|....[color=Red].[/color]..|    ####
|.[color=White]@[/color][color=Red]..[/color]...|
|.......|
---------
I continue my Withdraw action, passing back through the green square to the door.
Code:
---------
|.....[color=Gray]Z[/color].|
|......[color=Green].[/color][color=White]@[/color]####
|.....[color=Red].[/color].|   ##
|....[color=Red].[/color]..|    ####
|.[color=Red]_[/color][color=Red]..[/color]...|
|.......|
---------
Does the zombie receive an AoO when I leave the green square the second time?

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top