Multiple Attacks ?

Hypersmurf said:
So your weaker or less dextrous hand isn't weaker or less dextrous unless you're swinging a longsword in your other hand?
Correct. You only make off-hand attacks when you use two weapons. When using only one weapon the rules do not care which hand you're using.

"Off-hand" is found in only a few places - under Strength (less damage with off-hand), monk (no off-hand unarmed attack), the glossary and under TWF rules. There is no RULE that says "Pick one hand that is your weaker hand. If you use a weapon in that hand regardless of what it is the penalties are...". It's only brought up in relation to combat in situations where "off-hand" exists because of use of multiple weapons, not in relation to use of single weapons.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

D+1 said:
There is no RULE that says "Pick one hand that is your weaker hand."

There's no rule that says to pick an eye colour, either.

And yet, we can do that by ourselves...

Likewise, the off-hand is "generally the left", but you can pick right if you like.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
There's no rule that says to pick an eye colour, either.

And yet, we can do that by ourselves...

Likewise, the off-hand is "generally the left", but you can pick right if you like.

-Hyp.

Well then
I simply pick to have been born with hands of equal strength!
(That being said, they could be of NEARLY equal strength, so that I can use either equally well, but one better if I'm using both.)

^_^

Actually, I don't have any problem at all with a ruling such as yours, it makes perfect sense.
And, I've looked at the rules for TWF again, and it seems that I was indeed wrong on my initial assumption,
Which is that now everyone has a virtual ambi feat, and that the penalties for fighting with no feats is now the same as if you had the ambi one, which is what I'd originally thought.... instead they're the same if you have no feats,

And ambidex apprears to be combined within the TWF feat.
Although, that being said, with that feat you should DEFINITELY be assumed to have the effects of the ambi feat, and be able to make attacks with either hand without penalty (ok, there could be a house rule saying you can't with that either, but I'd be inclined to give even more wieght to that arguement than to my original one that you can do it with no feats!)
And, while I don't have a problem having that as an interpretation, I think that my original interpretation stating that the rules don't care which hand you're using as long as you're not performing TWF is the "correct" ruling, or to say that's what's in the text.
 

ARandomGod said:
I think that my original interpretation stating that the rules don't care which hand you're using as long as you're not performing TWF is the "correct" ruling, or to say that's what's in the text.

Oh, absolutely. As long as it's not your weaker or less dextrous hand, that is.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Oh, absolutely. As long as it's not your weaker or less dextrous hand, that is.

-Hyp.

Ha!
Now you;re just being silly. That quote above, stating that "the rules don't care which hand you're using as long as you're not performing TWF is the "correct" ruling, or to say that's what's in the text."

Was meant to imply, and I thought that it did imply, that I believe that the rules do not imply that using your weaker, or less dexterous hand has any penalties associated with the use of that weaker, or less dexterous hand, unless you are simultaniously using your other hand in the TWF maneuver. No other use of either hand has any penalty applied to it.
 

Remove ads

Top