Multiple Targets and Spell Turning

Shin Okada

Explorer
There are spells which are targeting spells and yet target multiple opponents at once. What will happen if more than 1 opponents are protected by Spell Turning?

Assume a CL 20 caster casts a Horrid Wilting onto 4 Mage Slayers. They are all protected by Mind over Magic class ability which works as per Spell Turning. Now, will the caster take damages 4 times (20d6 x 4) or shall he be damaged only once?

What if the spell is Mass Hold Person. Will the caster affected by the spell 4 times (thus 4 saves)? Or only once?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There are spells which are targeting spells and yet target multiple opponents at once. What will happen if more than 1 opponents are protected by Spell Turning?

Assume a CL 20 caster casts a Horrid Wilting onto 4 Mage Slayers. They are all protected by Mind over Magic class ability which works as per Spell Turning. Now, will the caster take damages 4 times (20d6 x 4) or shall he be damaged only once?

What if the spell is Mass Hold Person. Will the caster affected by the spell 4 times (thus 4 saves)? Or only once?
Using similar reasoning to why some folks would reasonably argue a sculpted spell should only affect a person once, a turned multi-target that can only normally target once, probably ought to only be turned back on the caster once.

Though i do think it would be quite reasonable to require four saves to be made for this situation, thus any one failed save means the caster fails to save.

Granted, I do feel spell turning should effect more things.
 


Using similar reasoning to why some folks would reasonably argue a sculpted spell should only affect a person once, a turned multi-target that can only normally target once, probably ought to only be turned back on the caster once.http://www.enworld.org/forum/d-d-3rd-edition-rules/194581-spell-turning.html#post3482168
Can I ask for a little more clarification on this? In the case of Horrid Wilting, it intuitively makes sense to me that only one damage effect would affect the caster (though I can see a separate save for each turn effect). I think this is my perception because it affects any number of targets within the indicated range/separation of the spell (More than 150 medium creatures could fit within 60' of each other!). In a sense, it's really an Area of Effect, though it's not explicitly noted as such.

But what about a simpler case: Magic Missile. The 20th level caster could pop off 5 of them at 5 different opponents. By the above reasoning, only one missile would be turned... but that doesn't seem intuitively correct to me - I think because the number of target is explicitly indicated. For Magic Missile, I'd tend to rule that each missile turned strikes the caster.

Am I missing something?
 

Can I ask for a little more clarification on this?
Essentially, it comes down to this: you couldn't target a single enemy more than once with a single casting of horrid wilting, so it shouldn't work that way in reverse, either. In contrast, you could target a single enemy with all 5 magic missiles, so having all 5 turned back on you is fair sauce.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top