Natural attacks and Class attacks confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.
Cameron said:
Anyway, please answer this: Do you now accept that natural attacks can be appended to a Flurry of Blows?

Me? No, because you can only attack with unarmed strikes or special monk weapons when using Flurry of Blows.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
Me? No, because you can only attack with unarmed strikes or special monk weapons when using Flurry of Blows.

-Hyp.
But haven't we established that the additional attacks are not part of the Flurry of Blows (ie., your question in the last post)?
 

Cameron said:
But haven't we established that the additional attacks are not part of the Flurry of Blows (ie., your question in the last post)?

My position from the beginning has been that they are. My question was that if you considered natural attacks to be outside of the flurry, then shouldn't off-hand attacks be considered in the same way?

Since I don't consider natural attacks to be outside the flurry, the question isn't relevant to me. I consider the FAQ answer stating "Natural attacks can be made in addition to the flurry" to be incorrect, while I consider the RotG answer stating that a character usig natural attacks cannot flurry to be bang-on, as with the FAQ answer that states "A natural weapon (any natural weapon) is neither an unarmed strike nor a special monk weapon, so you can’t use it along with a flurry."

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
My position from the beginning has been that they are. My question was that if you considered natural attacks to be outside of the flurry, then shouldn't off-hand attacks be considered in the same way?

Since I don't consider natural attacks to be outside the flurry, the question isn't relevant to me. I consider the FAQ answer stating "Natural attacks can be made in addition to the flurry" to be incorrect, while I consider the RotG answer stating that a character usig natural attacks cannot flurry to be bang-on, as with the FAQ answer that states "A natural weapon (any natural weapon) is neither an unarmed strike nor a special monk weapon, so you can’t use it along with a flurry."

-Hyp.
Correction, you can't use it *in* a Flurry. In other words if you can't use it as part of your Flurry attack (which is your normal iterative attack plus one or two bonus attacks). I can agree with that. However, the Flurry "flag" only applies to those attacks. Any extra attacks are not part of the Flurry (see my charge example above).

I think the FAQ is right on this one.
 


Hypersmurf said:
The FAQ says "along with".

-Hyp.
The FAQ made it quite clear that you cannot use natural attacks in a Flurry, although they keep using the word "with" rather than "in", but yet give examples of "in" rather than "with". I suspect that the person writing it is not an English professor.
 

Cameron said:
The FAQ made it quite clear that you cannot use natural attacks in a Flurry, although they keep using the word "with" rather than "in", but yet give examples of "in" rather than "with". I suspect that the person writing it is not an English professor.

There're two separate answers, one saying you can't use natural attacks along with a flurry, and one saying you can't use natural attacks as part of a flurry, but can in addition to.

My suspicion is that two different people wrote the answers, since the two answers contradict each other.

RotG, of course, states that if you're using natural attacks you can't flurry.

And the PHB says that when using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
There're two separate answers, one saying you can't use natural attacks along with a flurry, and one saying you can't use natural attacks as part of a flurry, but can in addition to.

My suspicion is that two different people wrote the answers, since the two answers contradict each other.

RotG, of course, states that if you're using natural attacks you can't flurry.

And the PHB says that when using flurry of blows, a monk may attack only with unarmed strikes or with special monk weapons.

-Hyp.
Which could be read as "in" a Flurry or "with" a Flurry.
 

Cameron said:
Which could be read as "in" a Flurry or "with" a Flurry.

Sure. And RotG and one FAQ answer say "You can't do it", and the other FAQ answer says "You can do it, but after, not during".

To me, that last answer opens up all manner of What Ifs, most of which I've brought up, whereas the simple reading keeps things tidy.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Sure. And RotG and one FAQ answer say "You can't do it", and the other FAQ answer says "You can do it, but after, not during".

To me, that last answer opens up all manner of What Ifs, most of which I've brought up, whereas the simple reading keeps things tidy.

-Hyp.
"Keeping things tidy" is not a reason for legality of a rule...
 

Status
Not open for further replies.
Remove ads

Top