Cameron said:Your argument can be voided by one word: Charge.
I don't think voided, weakened maybe. What do you think the duration of flurry is, and why ?
Cameron said:Your argument can be voided by one word: Charge.
Hypersmurf said:If you charge, the penalty to your AC persists until your next turn.
Are you, then - or your mount - considered to be 'charging' until your next turn? The lance deals double damage when used from the back of a charging mount - would you apply this to all AoOs made before your next turn?
A.....B
.......
...C...
It is voided the second you disallow the +2 to-hit on a charge to carry over to *all* your attacks that round (especially AoOs). If your "Charge" status remains for the whole round, everything from Spirited Charge and lance damage onwards counts towards AoOs you get until your next turn. If the status is not persistent, then your argument is debunked.Diirk said:I don't think voided, weakened maybe. What do you think the duration of flurry is, and why ?
Cameron said:It is voided the second you disallow the +2 to-hit on a charge to carry over to *all* your attacks that round (especially AoOs). If your "Charge" status remains for the whole round, everything from Spirited Charge and lance damage onwards counts towards AoOs you get until your next turn.
Cameron said:It is voided the second you disallow the +2 to-hit on a charge to carry over to *all* your attacks that round (especially AoOs). If your "Charge" status remains for the whole round, everything from Spirited Charge and lance damage onwards counts towards AoOs you get until your next turn. If the status is not persistent, then your argument is debunked.
So, which is it?
True enough. I thought the wording for the +2 to hit is the same as the damage one. Turns out they were different.Hypersmurf said:Lance damage applies to any attack made from the back of a charging mount.
The +2, on the other hand, applies to 'the attack':
After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll.
It seems unambiguous to me that the +2 applies to the single melee attack described by the Charge action that you make after moving. An AoO may or may not occur while a state of 'charging' is considered to exist, but if it is not the single melee attack you make after moving - if it occurs while you are moving, or occurs after that single melee attack has taken place - the +2 bonus is inapplicable.
If any attack made while 'charging' gained the +2 bonus, that would be a different story.
-Hyp.
Cameron said:Diirk, you haven't answered the question.
Suppose my character charged someone. I deal double damage. Someone else runs in and I get a aoo on him. Does the double damage still apply? If it doesn't your stance is voided.
I think that the flurry of blows does not have a duration per se. It's an ability to add attacks to a full-attack sequence, and therefore could be seen as having the same duration as that full-attack sequence. The penalty taken to permit this is the payoff, and it has a very explicit duration of exactly one round.Diirk said:I actually did answer that question, it seems you didn't read my post very well, I shall elucidate:
a. As illustrated above, you can already do double damage with lances on AoOs under certain circumstances. So no, I wouldn't have any problem with considering 'charging' to last for as long as the penalty did. I think it fits in better with the idea of 'abstracted simultaneity' that D&D combat is supposed to represent, anyway.
b. Charging as a whole is broken, due to the availability of things like Pounce. I think the house rules I suggested are a good idea regardless
PS you didn't answer my question about how long you think the duration of flurry of blows is ?