Number of spells on a scroll

irdeggman

First Post
Is there a limit to the number os spells that can be put on a single scroll?

All I've found so far is a reference to reinforced rods when a scroll contains 3 or more spells and a that the scroll has 1 ft added to its length for each spell. The first spell is 8 1/2 in by 11 inches.

Rules reference citation would be appreciated.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

The Scroll as Treasure charts have Major scrolls with 1d6 spells. So up to 6 spells per scroll.

In the Scroll is actually a varient Spellbook then it can hold 100 pages worth of spells but it is not a Scroll in the specific magic item sense.

The FAQ 3.5 allows you to treat up to 6 spells on a scroll as a single item for the item per day max of 1. This is counter to the ruling of the previous Sage where each spell counted as a separate item (6 spells = 6 days or more to create).
 

jodyjohnson said:
The Scroll as Treasure charts have Major scrolls with 1d6 spells. So up to 6 spells per scroll.

But that is random treasure and not the limit. So it would be at least 6 spells.

In the Scroll is actually a varient Spellbook then it can hold 100 pages worth of spells but it is not a Scroll in the specific magic item sense.

Where is this from?

The FAQ 3.5 allows you to treat up to 6 spells on a scroll as a single item for the item per day max of 1. This is counter to the ruling of the previous Sage where each spell counted as a separate item (6 spells = 6 days or more to create).

Actually the FAQ doesn't state 6 spells it states a scroll with multple spells is a signel item. The question referenced 6 spells per scroll, but that "limit" wa not addresed in the answer.

According to the rules, creating a magic item takes one day per 1,000 gp in its base cost, with a minimum of one day. The random scroll generation charts in the Dungeon Master’s Guide state that a scroll could have up to six spells on it. Does this mean that when I create a scroll I can place six spells on it? Does it count as one scroll or six for purposes of item creation (in other words, should it take one day or six)?

A scroll with multiple spells counts as a single item for the purpose of determining the time to create it. A divine scroll with six castings of cure light wounds (market price 150 gp) would take 1 day to scribe; a divine scroll with six castings of heal (market price 9,900 gp) would take 10 days to scribe. You’d need to expend (and prepare, if that’s required by your class) the spell once for each time it appears on the scroll. The act of scribing cure light wounds the first time onto a scroll expends cure light wounds, which means you’d need to have another one prepared to scribe it again.
 




frankthedm said:
Don't forget 3.5 specifies a caster still has to do somatic components when casting from a scroll. Without both hands free, two rods are of no help.

But since

Physical Description: A scroll is a heavy sheet of fine vellum or high-quality paper. An area about 8 1/2 inches wide and 11 inches long is sufficient to hold one spell. The sheet is reinforced at the top and bottom with strips of leather slightly longer than the sheet is wide. A scroll holding more than one spell has the same width (about 8 1/2 inches) but is an extra foot or so long for each extra spell. Scrolls that hold three or more spells are usually fitted with reinforcing rods at each end rather than simple strips of leather. A scroll has AC 9, 1 hit point, hardness 0, and a break DC of 8.

To protect it from wrinkling or tearing, a scroll is rolled up from both ends to form a double cylinder. (This also helps the user unroll the scroll quickly.) The scroll is placed in a tube of ivory, jade, leather, metal, or wood. Most scroll cases are inscribed with magic symbols which often identify the owner or the spells stored on the scrolls inside. The symbols often hide magic traps.

What is the difference when using a scroll that is 6 ft and one that is 10 ft?

How many hands to do you need to be able to hold a scroll in order to read it?

How much support is required to hold a scroll that is 3ft long (3 spells)?

How about one that is 6 ft long?

Personal opinion would be that anything longer than 3 ft (i.e., 3 spells) is just too large at all without some other support. But that is not the RAW, only an opinion.
 

That's actually a rather flavourful idea for a minor magic item - a scroll containing a bunch of ineresting spells, but that requires a table/reading stand/acolyte to help hold it.
 

irdeggman said:
But that is random treasure and not the limit. So it would be at least 6 spells.

I think it can be used as a limit. Otherwise if scrolls with 7 spells can exist by default (i.e., that anyone with Scribe Scroll can make them) nothing would explain why you never find them.
 

Li Shenron said:
I think it can be used as a limit. Otherwise if scrolls with 7 spells can exist by default (i.e., that anyone with Scribe Scroll can make them) nothing would explain why you never find them.

edit: I mean, if it exists, then it is possible to find it...
 

Remove ads

Top