OAs, Invisibility, and Shaman Powers.

abeattie

First Post
So here is a bit of hair-splitting (for great justice I assure you).

An invisible character gains the following advantages:
• You can’t be seen by normal forms of vision.
• You have combat advantage against any enemy that can’t see you.
• You don’t provoke opportunity attacks from enemies that can’t see you.
(DnDi Compendium)

However, the rules are explicit that: "If an invisible creature is not hidden from you, you can hear it or sense some other sign of its presence and therefore know what space it occupies, although you still can’t see it."

So, here's the question -- if I have a power which triggers an Opportunity Action (not an opportunity attack, which is a specific rule term, an opportunity action) when an enemy leaves a specific square/set of squares, or that triggers on entry into those same squares -- would you allow that movement by an invisible creature which is not hidden to trigger the opportunity action? What if that action is specifically an attack? What significance would you place on if the creature is hidden or not?

By way of example, check out the Spirit's Shield, Spirit's fangs line of shaman powers that trigger on enemies leaving a square adjacent to the spirit.

. . .

I think by my reading the movement does trigger the OA if the creature is not hidden. If the action is an attack you must be able to target the creature, which means being hidden matters. If the target is hidden, and you have not spent a minor action on your turn to make a perception roll to locate the creature, then you cannot make an attack, so the triggered action would fail against a hidden creature. . . but I'm biased on this so I want to see if this provokes righteous indignation.

It's such a corner case kind of issue that I cannot see running it RAW doing terrible harm to game balance, and invisibility isn't exactly underpowered . . . thoughts?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

There are several places in the rules where they've screwed up the distinction between opportunity attacks and opportunity actions, and you have indeed located one. Some of the previous ones have been cleaned up already, so perhaps this one may someday, but it's pretty corner.

The real answer is that, yes, RAW says that. And no, you should never try to make it work that way as a player, because this is one of those few cases where I'd argue RAI is extraordinarily clear. If you're the DM and you want to throw the player a bone, though, go nuts. It's probably not really a big gain, but eh.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top