One 5-foot step per round, what about the Hasted partial action

Jaxom

First Post
This subject has probably been gone over many times, but here goes...

I don't see anywhere in the PHB where it clearly says I cannot take a 5FS as part of a FAA, and then take another 5FS during my Hasted partial action.

I can see where it states that if you take a 5FS and no other movement for the round you don't draw an AoO. So I then wouldn't be able to take a 5FS as part of my hasted action, without drawing an AoO since that would be more than 5 feet of movement. But it still does not appear to say that I cannot take the second 5FS.

I hear that in the PHB there's a statement that says you only get one 5FS per round. If someone can help me find where, that would be great. If anyone can help clarify that you can't take two 5-foot steps even while hasted, even better. :)
javascript:smilie(':confused:')
confused
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Jaxom said:
...I can see where it states that if you take a 5FS and no other movement for the round you don't draw an AoO. So I then wouldn't be able to take a 5FS as part of my hasted action, without drawing an AoO since that would be more than 5 feet of movement. But it still does not appear to say that I cannot take the second 5FS...

You kind of answered your own question.

A 5-foot step avoids an AoO by definition. A move that does not avoid an AoO is NOT a 5-foot step, by definition.

If you only avoid an AoO (from movement) when you take a5-foot step and no other movement in a round, then if you took another 5-foot step with Haste it would:

1. Not avoid an AoO because it was not your only movemenmt for the round.
2. Not be a 5-foot step because it did not avoid an AoO.

Make sense?

Only one 5-foot step per round. Haste does not change that, because you can only get a "5-foot step" if it is the only movement in the round.
 

The definition of a 5' step (also called an adjustment) states that you can only take a 5' step in a round wherein you take no other movement. But unfortunately idhmbifom, so I can't quote you chapter and verse.
 

You only get one 5' Step per round, ever.

A 5' Step is a special type of movement, which you can use only if you taken no other movement in the round. If you have already moved at all, you may not take a 5' Step. Once you have taken a 5' Step, you may not move any more.

A hasted character could take a Move action to travel 5', then take one attack, then Move again to travel an additional 5'. However, neither of those is a 5' Step per se; they are normal moves, and the character provokes AoO for each of them.
 

Yes you can.

Read the spell definition of “Haste”, and the glossary definitions of “Partial Action” and “5-Foot Step”.

Haste:
The transmuted creature moves and acts more quickly than normal. This extra speed has several effects. On his turn, the subject may take an extra partial action, either before or after his regular action. He gains a +4 haste bonus to AC. He loses this bonus whenever he would lose a dodge bonus. He can jump one and a half times as far as normal. This increase counts as an enhancement bonus.

5-Foot Step:
A small position adjustment that does not count as a move in combat. Usually (but not always), a 5-Foot Step is permitted in conjunction with a full-round action and may be taken at any point in the round. Most Partial actions also permit a 5-Foot Step. This movement does not provoke an attack of opportunity.

Partial Action:
An abbreviated action. Characters do not choose to take partial actions, but they are sometimes mandated by situations, such as a character’s condition or previous decision. Generally, a character can accomplish either portion of a standard action (that is, moving full speed or attacking) during a partial action, but not both. (The partial charge is the sole exception to this.) A 5-Foot Step is usually permitted in conjunction with a partial action.

Answer:
Yes you can take two steps, one with a full-round action, and one with your partial action.

1. By definition, “a 5-Foot Step is permitted in conjunction with a full-round action and may be taken at any point in the round. Most Partial actions also permit a 5-Foot Step.” This tells me that I can take one with my full round action, and it also tells me I can take one with my Partial action.
2. By definition, Haste gives you “an extra partial action”. And by definition Partial Action, “A 5-Foot Step is usually permitted”. (The “usually” does not mean accept when hasted it means. It means read Table 8-3: Partial Actions to find out when you can and cannot.)
3. By definition, a 5-Foot Step “does not count as a move in combat”, therefore you have not moved when you take you make you second small position adjustment. I turn provoking no Attack of Opportunity.
4.By definition, a 5-Foot Step "may be taken at any point in the round". This say you can make both 5-Foot Step at any point. So you could make two 5' adjustments, then take a full-round action, the take a partial action.

In my opinion the definition of Haste states “The transmuted creature moves and acts more quickly than normal.” If I move and act more quickly, I should be able to make two small position adjustments.
Also nobody has pointed out were in any book does it say that you cannot.
 

I asked this question of the Sage, and it was included in the most recent update to the Official Main FAQ (v.10252002, p. 46):

If a character receives a haste spell, she gets an extra partial action on her turn. Do movement options that are limited "per turn" apply over the whole turn, or should they be interpreted to be on a per-action basis? For example, can a hasted person do the following:
# Make a standard move, and then take a partial attack action with normal 5-foot step (as per Table 8-3)?...

No to all. Haste gives you an extra partial action each round. It doesn't let you break the rules otherwise, and it does not give you an “extra” round during your turn. If you move during your turn, you cannot also take a 5-foot step, haste notwithstanding...

Personally, I wish this had been judged in the opposite way.
 

Also nobody has pointed out were in any book does it say that you cannot.

From the PHB p.117:

If your entire move for the round is 5 feet (a 5-foot step), enemies do not get attacks of opportunity for you moving.

By definition, a 5 foot step is only a 5 foot step as long as you make no other movement for all of the round. Haste doesn't change how your round works, it just makes it longer.
 

Here's the complete question and answer from the FAQ quoted earlier:

If a character receives a haste spell, she gets an extra partial action on her turn. Do movement options that are limited "per turn" apply over the whole turn, or should they be interpreted to be on a per-action basis? For example, can a hasted person do the following:
- Make a standard move, and then take a partial attack action with normal 5-foot step (as per Table 8-3)?
- Make a double move, and then a partial attack, without suffering an attack of opportunity in the initial square of movement?
- Make a standard charge and then partial move in a different direction?

No to all. Haste gives you an extra partial action each round. It doesn't let you break the rules otherwise, and it does not give you an "extra" round during your turn.
- If you move during your turn, you cannot also take a 5-foot step, haste notwithstanding.
- If you start your turn in a threatened space and you leave that space, you provoke an attack of opportunity when you leave unless you do nothing else during the rest of your turn except move, haste notwithstanding.
- When you charge, all your movement during the round must be in a straight line and in the same direction, haste notwithstanding.

Unless I'm missing something, nowhere in the above statement, or by the definitions quoted previously in the thread from the PHB, does it say a character can't take a 5-ft step and attack then follow up with a hasted 5-ft step and another attack.

I see attacks of opportunity for moving more than 5 feet in a round. I also see that by the definition of a 5-foot step in the PHB that it's not even considered a move in combat.

Without specific points to FAQ and the PHB, pages and paragraphs, I see alot of interpretation. I understand alot of the rules are left to interpretation, just last night a spell a player cast was interpretated a few different ways, but that's another thread. ;)
 

A 5' step is movement, it's just not a Move action.

You can only make a 5' step if your entire move (not "move action" )for the round is 5'. If you try to take a 2nd 5' step, then your entire movement for the round would greater than 5'.

Haste doesn't change this, as per the Sage. Some people choose to house rule it otherwise (and I think it makes a certain degree of sense to do so, although it does make haste more powerful).
 
Last edited:

Jaxom said:

Unless I'm missing something, nowhere in the above statement, or by the definitions quoted previously in the thread from the PHB, does it say a character can't take a 5-ft step and attack then follow up with a hasted 5-ft step and another attack.

You are missing a little, namely the central question being asked in that FAQ entry. I'll highlight it thus:


Originally posted from FAQ
Do movement options that are limited "per turn" apply over the whole turn, or should they be interpreted to be on a per-action basis?

No to all. Haste gives you an extra partial action each round. It doesn't let you break the rules otherwise, and it does not give you an "extra" round during your turn.

From the SRD: "If a character's entire move for the round is 5 feet the 5 foot move does not provoke an attack of opportunity." The whole point of the Sage's answer is that haste doesn't let you skip out on the "entire move for the round" limitation. Once you've taken a 5 ft. adjustment in any round, per the Sage's ruling, that's all you get for the round, and haste doesn't remove this specific restriction.
 
Last edited:

Remove ads

Top