One Time Stop after another?

Veldrane

First Post
Just re-read Time Stop (haven't yet take a look since 3.5 came out) and it seems that nothing prevents to cast another Time Stop on the last round of the previous Time Stop.
Am I missing something or is it still legal?
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

It's perfectly legal, if an 18+ level wizard/sorcerer is willing to devote multiple 9th level spell slots for extra time to prepare for a fight. The types of spells usable while in a time stop is relatively limited, though, making it rather difficult to rationalize blowing 2 9th level spells in many cases.
 

So how does the wizard know when the last round is? The duration is random (1d4+1 rounds), and:
SRD said:
If a spell’s duration is variable the duration is rolled secretly (the caster doesn’t know how long the spell will last).
 

Well, if the second Time Stop is used in the first round of the previous Time Stop, then a logical (though not necessarily rules based) explaination would be that the second stop halts the relative time present from the first stop. So when the second Time Stop ends, the remaining time from the first one restarts.

This is, of course, an interpretation.
 

Delay within a time stop?

Ok,

Here's an interesting scenario.

On my turn, at initiative count 18 I cast Time Stop. I roll the number of rounds, get 2 and add 1. Thus I have 3 rounds (the actual number is irrelevant as the final round is the important part of this scenario). Before I act for the 1st round of Time Stop which normally would be intitiative point 18, I decide to delay my initiative account to 17 and unless I delay again my intiative point now will always remain at 17. I then cast delayed blast fireball (set to go off at initiative point 17 when time stop ends), followed up by a summon monster spell (which was also cast on initiative count of 17). Now since I delayed my initiative account by 1 my last round of Time Stop actually happens right after Time Stop ends (I hope I haven't lost anyone at this point) thus allowing me to have my monster attack, my fireball go boom and it lets me use an offensive action against my enemies since Time Stop is over and we are back in real time.

I have called WotC rules support line and have had conflicting answers. One time they said yes (after much internal debate) and another time they said no (after much debate). Does anyone have any information that they could add that would support/not support this use of a Time Stop? I think one of the conflicting points is the word "apparant rounds" in the description of Time Stop. This could be viewed 1 of 2 ways. First, they are rounds inserted into normal combat and thus you are allowed to delay your initiative count. Second, it is like the rounds go by but they aren't really happening and thus you can not delay.

Personally I think this is a great way to make use of the spell! What do you guys think?
 

I wouldn't allow any change to your initiative count to happen in any "apparent" (Time stop wording) round, so, if you delayed at 17 you'd get:

Start of your round (init. 18)
- Cast time stop -> 2 rounds
- anything you want
- delay @ init 15
End of your round

Other people act normally

Next round you start at 15 initiative

Note that:
Delayed blast fireball
Summon monster
are perfectly viable even without that initiative trick, since time pass for your spells.
They just act after the end of your time stop, but before the end of your turn.

To see why I originally made the question, see here here
 

Veldrane,

Correct me if I am wrong but on the last round when time stop ends your turn is done. I don't think it ends during your turn and if it ends at the end of the turn then delayed blast fireball doe snot go boom and summon monster creatures do not get to attack until your next turn (ie, your next initiative count) because if they did it wouldn't be the end of your turn.
 

Remove ads

Top