Opportunity Attacks and Qick Draw

Well, I personally would say that an opportunity attack must be made with the weapon you are threatening with. OK, 4e doesn't actually have the concept of threatening, but it does say that to make an OA you must be able to make a melee basic attack. I would rule that the attack actually made must be the same one used to meet that qualification.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Well, I personally would say that an opportunity attack must be made with the weapon you are threatening with. OK, 4e doesn't actually have the concept of threatening, but it does say that to make an OA you must be able to make a melee basic attack. I would rule that the attack actually made must be the same one used to meet that qualification.


An melee basic attack also includes with your hands or feet... And you threaten every 5ft square around you, always..

So if i am holding an Longsword, Bastard sword and someone provokes, i can kick them if i want, because that is an basic melee attack..
 

Since most OA are going to occur on someone else's turn, I would assume that you can't take a minor action (drawing the longsword) and make your basic attack (OA) on someone else's turn. At least that's how I interpret the RAW.
 

Since most OA are going to occur on someone else's turn, I would assume that you can't take a minor action (drawing the longsword) and make your basic attack (OA) on someone else's turn. At least that's how I interpret the RAW.

The original question had to do with opportunity attacks and Quick Strike (PH 200). Drawing the weapon is part of the opportunity attack (basic melee attack) action.
 

So if i am holding an Longsword, Bastard sword and someone provokes, i can kick them if i want, because that is an basic melee attack..
Yes, because when the provoking action occurs, you are capable of making a basic melee attack against your opponent with your unarmed strike.

If you sword is in it's sheath, however, you are not capable of making a basic melee attack with your sword at the time that the OA is provoked, and I don't think Quickdraw means that you should be treated like you can.
 

Yes, because when the provoking action occurs, you are capable of making a basic melee attack against your opponent with your unarmed strike.

If you sword is in it's sheath, however, you are not capable of making a basic melee attack with your sword at the time that the OA is provoked, and I don't think Quickdraw means that you should be treated like you can.

I don't know...

A Melee Basic Attack is a Standard Action to use.
When you perform an Opportunity Attack, you are making a Melee Basic Attack. So essentially, you are also using a Standard Action to do this, even though it isn't your turn, because that is required when you make a Melee Basic Attack.
So as part of that (Standard Action) Melee Basic Attack, you should be able to Quick Draw a weapon, as it is all part of that same action (the Standard Action).

Of course, that is only one way to look at it...
 

A Melee Basic Attack is a Standard Action to use.
When you perform an Opportunity Attack, you are making a Melee Basic Attack. So essentially, you are also using a Standard Action to do this, even though it isn't your turn, because that is required when you make a Melee Basic Attack.

No, you're taking an Opportunity Action, not a Standard Action.

Which doesn't change your basic premise - the OA is an action (an opportunity action), so you should be able to Quick Draw your weapon as part of that action.

-Hyp.
 

If you sword is in it's sheath, however, you are not capable of making a basic melee attack with your sword at the time that the OA is provoked, and I don't think Quickdraw means that you should be treated like you can.

By that logic, if your sword is in its sheathe you aren't able to attack with it at the time you choose to use an attack power on your turn and therefore Quick Draw shouldn't work.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top