Opportunity attacks and readied actions

It's a risk.

If you ready an action to attack as soon as they're within reach, and they move through your reach, i.e. they don't stop their movement within reach, you don't get to attack.

Not True. Immediate reactions are allowed to interrupt movement as long as the target has moved at least one square. There is always a risk that the enemy will end up doing something unexpected though and you lose your action.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It seems reasonable to house-rule that Immediate Actions and Opportunity Attacks can occur on your turn if in response to readied actions. I can't see any reason for a DM not to agree with that. It seems like trying to get something by on a technicality that there's no reason to allow.
 

Not True. Immediate reactions are allowed to interrupt movement as long as the target has moved at least one square. There is always a risk that the enemy will end up doing something unexpected though and you lose your action.

That's not how it's written up in the Readied Actions section. Is that under Immediate Reactions?
 


Monster Interrupts

It also appears that readied actions could be used as a tactic to avoid enemy interrupt powers. Take a Red Dragon for example that has a vicious interrupt when bloodied. If a PC arranges to bloody the dragon on its turn it wont get to use the ability.
 


Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top