Podcast #278: D&D Beyond and Walled Gardens with Mike Shea

This week, Morrus and Jessica are joined by Mike Shea aka Sly Flourish to talk about D&D Beyond and walled gardens. In the news, D&D announcements from PAX Unplugged, MCDM’s new RPG on Backerkit, Pathfinder 2e charity bundle, and more! Plus a brand new sketch about the wondrous inventions of a rather mundane artificer.

DDBeyondHeader.jpg


Subscribe on iTunes | Google Play | YouTube | TuneIn | Stitcher | Blubrry | Podbean | Spotify | Android

Our Guest

Mike Shea aka Sly Flourish https://slyflourish.com/

Like Lazy RPG Podcast https://slyflourish.podbean.com/

Sly Flourish on YouTube https://www.youtube.com/slyflourish

--------------------

News

Dragonmeet After Action Report https://www.enworld.org/threads/dragonmeet-after-action-report.701390/

WotC Removes Release Dates from Promo Images for 2024 https://www.enworld.org/threads/wotc-removes-release-dates-from-promo-images-for-2024.701375/

The 2024 Core D&D Rulebooks Are Coming May https://www.enworld.org/threads/the-2024-core-d-d-rulebooks-are-coming-in-may.701361/

Vecna: Even of Ruin Coming 2024 https://www.enworld.org/threads/vecna-eve-of-ruin-coming-2024.701359/

Quests from the Infinite Staircase https://www.enworld.org/threads/quests-from-the-infinite-staircase-coming-july-2024.701363/

Descent Into the Lost Caverns of Tsojcanth is the first of several single session D&D events https://www.enworld.org/threads/des...-of-several-single-session-d-d-events.701367/

Dungeons & Dragons Making Of Book https://www.enworld.org/threads/d-d-making-of-book-coming-june-2024.701364/

Roll for Combat VTT impressions live stream archive
MCDM new RPG on Backerkit raises over $1 million in first day, at time of writing was over $2.5 million https://www.enworld.org/threads/mcdms-new-tactical-ttrpg-hits-1m-crowdfunding-on-first-day.701473/

Shadowrun 1st Edition Hardcover from 1989 getting a reprint https://www.enworld.org/threads/shadowrun-1st-edition-to-be-reprinted.701404/

Pathfinder 2nd Edition Legacy Bundle on Humble Bundle https://www.humblebundle.com/books/...egacy-bundle-paizo-books?partner=gamerstavern

R. Talsorian announced Shadow Scar coming in 2024 https://www.enworld.org/threads/r-talsorian-games-announces-shadow-scar.701472/

Baldur’s Gate 3 wins 6 awards at the 2023 Game Awards inlcuindg Game of the Year and Player’s Voice https://www.ign.com/articles/the-game-awards-2023-winners-the-full-list

Steve Jackson Games 2024 Release Schedule https://www.enworld.org/threads/steve-jackson-games-announces-2024-release-schedule.701492/

Gate Pass Gazette Annual 2023 Pre-Launch Page on Kickstarter https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/enworld/level-up-a5e-gate-pass-gazette-annual-2023

--------------------

D&D Beyond and Walled Gardens

D&D Beyond https://www.dndbeyond.com/

Open5e https://open5e.com/

Level Up: Advanced 5e on Foundry https://foundryvtt.com/packages/a5e

Fantastic Lairs on Roll20 https://marketplace.roll20.net/browse/bundle/21371/fantastic-lairs-tier-1-1st-4th-level

Demiplane 5e Nexus https://app.demiplane.com/nexus/5e

Shard Tabletop https://www.shardtabletop.com/

Clash on Owlbear Rodeo https://extensions.owlbear.rodeo/clash

Warmage Wizard Archetype on the Level Up website https://www.levelup5e.com/news/the-warmage-wizard-archetype

D&D’s Inclusivity Language Alterations in Core Rules https://www.enworld.org/threads/d-ds-inclusivity-language-alterations-in-core-rules.701114/

--------------------

Please support us on Patreon at http://patreon.com/morrus

Don’t forget to join the Morrus’ Unofficial Tabletop RPG Talk Facebook group at https://www.facebook.com/groups/1033145023517295/ and join us on Discord at https://discord.gg/VAuxX8M

Ask your Listener Question on Twitter, email morruspodcast@gmail.com, or contact us on TikTok at TikTok

--------------------

Hosts: Russ “Morrus” Morrissey, Peter Coffey, and Jessica Hancock

Editing and post-production: Darryl Mott

Theme Song: Steve Arnott

Malach the Maleficent played by Darren Morrissey

Check out all the media content from EN World at http://enliverpg.com
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Darryl Mott

Darryl Mott


Distracted DM

Distracted DM
I'm curious about what was talked about here, considering Mike Shea's post re: DnDB's 3rd party integration being bad for the overall TTRPG scene (apologies if I'm butchering the point of your post, Mike); I'll have to listen to find out what else might be discussed!
 

SlyFlourish

SlyFlourish.com
Supporter
I'm curious about what was talked about here, considering Mike Shea's post re: DnDB's 3rd party integration being bad for the overall TTRPG scene (apologies if I'm butchering the point of your post, Mike); I'll have to listen to find out what else might be discussed!
I recommend it!
 

Abstruse

Legend
I'm curious about what was talked about here, considering Mike Shea's post re: DnDB's 3rd party integration being bad for the overall TTRPG scene (apologies if I'm butchering the point of your post, Mike); I'll have to listen to find out what else might be discussed!
That's the main topic, but they go into detail for an hour on the subject and stretch out into open licenses, "D&D" vs. "5e", stewardship of the brand, VTT integration, and a lot more. Basically it's a pretty thorough discussion about the state of online tools and speculating on the implications various announcements will have on the future of the hobby and the industry.
 






Related Articles

Remove ads

Remove ads

AD6_gamerati_skyscraper

Remove ads

Upcoming Releases

Top