Power Attack and Readied Actions, when do you declare?

Stalker0

Legend
Here's the situation. I ready an action to disarm the opponent who charges me. The opponent charges, intending to power attack for 5. Obviously the more he power attacks, the easier it will be for me to disarm him.

But when does he have to decide, the second he starts charging, after my disarm attempt or right before?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

On your action, before making attack rolls for a round...

I would understand this to be right before the first attack.
I would not count the attack roll to defend against the Disarm as 'making attack rolls for a round'.

Bye
Thanee
 

Thanee said:
I would understand this to be right before the first attack.

Agreed.

I would not count the attack roll to defend against the Disarm as 'making attack rolls for a round'.

This I disagree with. Opposed attack rolls are still, well, attack rolls. And I think the fact that it's easier to disarm or sunder the weapons of someone using a lot of PA or Combat Expertise is an important tactical element of dealing with such maneuvers.
 

Power Attack is decided on your turn before making any attacks. The penalty to hit and bonus to damage apply until the beginning of your next turn.
 

...meaning that the charge that began this situation necessarily followed the declaration of Power Attack allocation. When your readied action takes place, his decision has already been made.
 

I would rule that the penalty kicks in when the character makes his first attack of the round. Therefore it would not apply to the disarm, which falls just before that.
 

I think this depends on whether you view the attack action as an intrinsic part of the charge or if you view it as distinct.

Personally for ease of adjudication I would rule that at the beginning of the charge action the attacker indicates the Power Attack he's wanting to use and he is subject to the penalties and benefits for the duration of his action and the remainder of combat until his next turn.

This would seem to replicate how a reckless charge (charge + power attack) leaves one open to a skilled combatant disarming, tripping, etc.

Note with this ruling the charging character would also be easier to hit assuming that he becomes subject to an AoO.
 

Vuron said:
I think this depends on whether you view the attack action as an intrinsic part of the charge or if you view it as distinct.

I've always read it as an intrinsic part of the charge, which occurs at a distinct point in time during that charge.

And the penalty to AC doesn't apply until that distinct point in time, which is always after the movement portion.

Attacking on a Charge: After moving, you may make a single melee attack. You get a +2 bonus on the attack roll, and take a –2 penalty to your AC until the start of your next turn.

-Hyp.
 

RAW may be ambiguous, but logically it would be easier to disarm someone swinging wildly, (power attack 5) than someone focusing all their attention on the weapon and the opponent

since the disarm rules specifically mention "attack rolls", to me thats clinched it

I don't think anyone would object to the -2 from the charge, so why not the penalty from the power attack?

just MHO
 


Remove ads

Top