"Proofreading" my first encounter

Hakon:

Hakon throws his dagger at Smidi

(Hakon) Roll to hit Smidi with thrown dagger
AC 16
Roll: 19 (19 + 4 Attack Bonus -4 Throwing into a melee)
Critical Threat

(Hakon) Roll to confirm critical hit
AC 16
Roll: 18 (18 + 4 Attack Bonus -4 Throwing into a melee)
Critical Hit

Roll 1d3 x 2 for damage
Roll: 6 (3 x 2 Critical)
(Smidi reduced to 0 HP, disabled)

Was going through and noticed this
Hakon missed a point or 2 in their attack bonus, should be:
1 (BAB) +3 (DEX) +1 (Size) = 5

Also, and this is partially a guess because feats were not listed, if hakon has Point blank shot, either they were short a point of damage and a point in attack bonus or he should have been at -4 for being 40+ feet away

And I found this
Thrown Weapons: The wielder applies his Strength modifier to damage dealt by thrown weapons (except for splash weapons). It is possible to throw a weapon that isn't designed to be thrown (that is, a melee weapon that doesn't have a numeric entry in the Range column on Table: Weapons), and a character who does so takes a –4 penalty on the attack roll. Throwing a light or one-handed weapon is a standard action, while throwing a two-handed weapon is a full-round action. Regardless of the type of weapon, such an attack scores a threat only on a natural 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. Such a weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.

So even a thrown dagger only crits on 20.
So Smidli should have had 2-3HP left after the dagger hit him and Solanada would have need to make a careful retreat (withdraw or 5 ft step) to avoid an AoO

Logrik:

Logrik attempts to finish off Smidi (Coup de Grace)

Roll 2d6 x 2 for Coup de Grace damage
Roll: 24 ((roll 3 + 3 Str bonus with 2-hand weapon + roll 3 + 3 Str bonus with 2-hand weapon) x 2)

Not sure where this all is
If you meant he rolled 1d6 with a result of 3 both times, this is correct (except for the fact smidli would not have been Coup de Grace - able)
If he rolled 2d6 with a result of 3 both times (besides this player needing a new pair of d6) this would have been twice the damage he dealt
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Was going through and noticed this
Hakon missed a point or 2 in their attack bonus, should be:
1 (BAB) +3 (DEX) +1 (Size) = 5

Also, and this is partially a guess because feats were not listed, if hakon has Point blank shot, either they were short a point of damage and a point in attack bonus or he should have been at -4 for being 40+ feet away

Yes he has point-blank shot. I wasn't aware that applied to thrown weapons though. I'd assumed only his bow would get the bonus from it, not the thrown dagger. And I've just looked over my copy of Hakon's character sheet and it seems the player has his BAB listed as 0 rather than 1. I'll inform her of that.

And I found this

Thrown Weapons: The wielder applies his Strength modifier to damage dealt by thrown weapons (except for splash weapons). It is possible to throw a weapon that isn't designed to be thrown (that is, a melee weapon that doesn't have a numeric entry in the Range column on Table: Weapons), and a character who does so takes a –4 penalty on the attack roll. Throwing a light or one-handed weapon is a standard action, while throwing a two-handed weapon is a full-round action. Regardless of the type of weapon, such an attack scores a threat only on a natural 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. Such a weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.

So even a thrown dagger only crits on 20.
So Smidli should have had 2-3HP left after the dagger hit him and Solanada would have need to make a careful retreat (withdraw or 5 ft step) to avoid an AoO

I suppose the dagger only gets 19-20/x2 in melee combat then. That's good to know for the future, thank you.

Not sure where this all is
If you meant he rolled 1d6 with a result of 3 both times, this is correct (except for the fact smidli would not have been Coup de Grace - able)
If he rolled 2d6 with a result of 3 both times (besides this player needing a new pair of d6) this would have been twice the damage he dealt

I'm not entirely sure what you mean there actually, but I think you're asking if he rolled 2d6 then multiplied the result by 2 or if he rolled 2d6 twice. Sorry if I misinterpreted that. Logrik rolled two d6 dice, both of which landed on 3. he then added his bonuses and multiplied the total result of 12 by 2 to get 24 damage.
 

Thrown Weapons: The wielder applies his Strength modifier to damage dealt by thrown weapons (except for splash weapons). It is possible to throw a weapon that isn't designed to be thrown (that is, a melee weapon that doesn't have a numeric entry in the Range column on Table: Weapons), and a character who does so takes a –4 penalty on the attack roll. Throwing a light or one-handed weapon is a standard action, while throwing a two-handed weapon is a full-round action. Regardless of the type of weapon, such an attack scores a threat only on a natural 20 and deals double damage on a critical hit. Such a weapon has a range increment of 10 feet.

This rule means that throwing improvised weapons (like a greatsword which has a range entry of "-") only threatens on a 20.

A dagger is not an improvised thrown weapon - it is designed be thrown (it has a range entry of 10 ft). You were right to allow a critical threat roll with a natural 19.

However, you are not calculating critical damage correctly.

I'm not sure if Hakon should bonuses from Point Blank Shot (looks like it should only apply to ranged weapons as you said), but for argument's sake, let's say he does.

The critical damage for Hakon would then be 2d3+2. That means roll two dice, add them together, then add double the bonus damage (in this case, the damage from Point Blank Shot). You have already doubled the damage at this point - do not multiply by 2 again!

Now lets calculate Logrik's damage. It should be 4d6+6. Four dice are rolled (double the normal two dice) and added together, then double the +3 bonus is added to the result. Do not multiply by 2 again!

Also I want to emphasize that Logrik cannot do a coup de grace on a disabled opponent. A disabled opponent is not helpless. Helpless is unconscious, dying, sleeping, paralyzed, or held - conditions where the goblin cannot move at all. Disabled allows the goblin to move, even if it is a half move.
 

As Gansk states, Dingo is wrong on the dagger. A dagger does have a thrown range (10/20/30), and keeps its 19-20/x2 critical range when thrown.

The quoted text he supplied only applies to basically improvised thrown weapons.
 

I stand by my assessment of thrown weapons criting only on a natural 20 as no other thrown weapon I can find crits on anything but a 20

As for point blank shot, it stated ranged weapons. Whether you take this to be only those weapons listed under the ranged sections or any ranged attack is up to you. I will just point out that the alchemist bombs (Thrown Splash weapons) can be used with Point blank shot, as can all rays.

And for Logrik's attack, I was confused and he did roll it right
thank you for clearing that up
 

I stand by my assessment of thrown weapons criting only on a natural 20

Yeah, that's wrong.

Improvised thrown weapons use a 20/x2 crit range regardless of the base weapon's range. E.g., throwing a greataxe, which normally has a 20/x3 critical, uses 20/x2 instead because it isn't designed to be thrown.

Real thrown weapons use whatever their normal crit range is. Also, the starknife has a 20/x3 critical and a 20' throwing range, the dwarven maulaxe is 20/x3 with a 10' range, the syringe spear is 20/x3 with 20' range, the switchblade is 19/x2 with 10' range, the basic spear is 20/x3 with 20' range, etc.

Thrown weapons are also ranged weapons, so ...

As for point blank shot, it stated ranged weapons.

PBS shot applies - and, since most thrown weapons have short ranges, it'll apply on almost every attack you make with them.
 
Last edited:

Going back to the OP's original questions ...

Logrik Toesworn is sitting down at the start of combat and thus is flat-footed.

At the start of combat, everyone is flat-footed. It doesn't matter whether you're sitting, sleeping, or prone. Once you've acted, however, you are no longer flat-footed.

Logrik gets to his feet and draws his sword

Now, if you were treating Logrik as prone, then standing up would provoke an Attack of Opportunity (AoO). However, if you weren't, the getting up from sitting down without provoking is probably okay.

AoOs are commonly thought to be one of the trickiest parts of D&D 3.XE and Pathfinder. So, in this case, you were probably better off skipping it for your first combat if it was a questionable area.

Roll 1d3 x 2 for damage
Roll: 6 (3 x 2 Critical)
(Smidi reduced to 0 HP, disabled)

For critical hits, you do not multiply the damage. Instead, you roll twice. So, in this case you'd roll 2d3 damage.

As mentioned earlier, with thrown weapons, point blank shot would apply. If he had the feat, he'd roll 2d3+2 for damage. Also, thrown weapons tend to have really short ranges - daggers have a 10' range. So, you take no penalty at 5' or 10' away from your target, a -2 penalty at 15' or 20', etc.

Roll 2d6 x 2 for Coup de Grace damage
Roll: 24 ((roll 3 + 3 Str bonus with 2-hand weapon + roll 3 + 3 Str bonus with 2-hand weapon) x 2)

Logrik's normal damage with his two-handed sword is 2d6+3; his normal Str bonus is +2, and he get's 1.5x it for using a two-handed weapon. When he scores a critical hit, he rolls 4d6+6. You only add your Strength bonus to damage once for each damage roll, not once per each die of damage a weapon has.

Also, a Coup de Grace is a full-round action, so Logrik would have to move next to the goblin before trying this.

Also, at 0 HP you are Disabled, not Unconscious. Thus, the goblin was not a valid target for a Coup de Grace. On his next turn, he could attempt an attack, or try to move away from the party, etc.

SkredlitheOgre said:
The ONLY question I have about this is whether the goblin should have provoked an attack of opportunity from Solanada as well. If he moves adjacent to her and attacks, by my reading, that should provoke an AoO. Other than that, things look great.

Most likely not. Moving into someone's threatened area doesn't provoke - so as long as the goblin didn't try to run around Solanada, assuming she had a weapon, there'd be no AoO.

Natural 1 being an autofail for everything is just how my old DM did things.

Generally, this houserule isn't a good idea to implement.
 

Hm, I didn't know criticals were roll twice instead of multiply by 2. I think I learned that one from my old DM as well.

I should probably reread the rules on the various things I did wrong a few more times...
 

Hm, I didn't know criticals were roll twice instead of multiply by 2. I think I learned that one from my old DM as well.

In the long run, it kinda-sorta-maybe-mostly ends up approximately the same - on average. What it does is change the distributions.

Consider, for instance, a Fireball spell cast by a 10th-level Wizard. It does 10d6 damge.

1d6x10 ("your method") and 10d6 ("the rules method") both average 35 damage across a large number of attempts.

The difference, though, is that 1 in 6 of "your" fireballs does 10 damage and 1 in 6 does 60. In the "rules" fireball's case, only 1 in 60.5 million fireballs does 1 damage, and similarly only 1 in 60.5 million does 60 damage.

While the variances are a little less extreme for rolling damage - because, usually, there's less dice involved - the principle is the same.
 


Remove ads

Top