bobcat_grad
First Post
In my campaign, the characters all just got horses. During preparation for the next session, I realized that some of the monsters have condition effects from burst or area attacks. Since burst and area attacks would be made against the character and his/her mount separately, this could result in a condition being on the character and not the mount and vice versa. Nothing in the rules currently address how to handle some of these situations.
After getting feedback from players and this community here in other threads, I put together the following and would like additional critiques on the impacts of these rules.
EDIT:
The above was the original set of conditions and how to deal with them. After some good feedback, I'm making some modifications.
Replacing those stated situations for when conditions effect the character, but NOT the mount
Replacing those stated situations for when conditions effect the mount, but NOT the character
After getting feedback from players and this community here in other threads, I put together the following and would like additional critiques on the impacts of these rules.
- [FONT="]All the rules in the DMG (page 46 and 47) apply as written[/FONT]
- [FONT="]If a character is NOT mounted, the mount is a NPC under the control of the DM. This only applies on complete turns where the character is not mounted. So, if a character starts his turn mounted, and dismounts during the turn, then the mount is not a distinct entity until the following turn. Similarly, if a character mounts a mount on his turn, they begin sharing actions again.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]In all cases where there is a question of order of events, the character gets to take actions first before his mount.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Example – a character is not mounted, and on his turn moves to the mount and then mounts. Since the character gets to ‘go first’ this prevents the DM from moving the horse out of range of the character.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]While mounted, for conditions that effect a character, but NOT a mount, the following will apply:[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Blinded[/FONT]
- [FONT="]No issue here. You and your mount share your set of actions, you just are under the normal effects of being blinded.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Dazed[/FONT]
- [FONT="]You control the mount, and since you can only take one action, you can only direct the mount to take one action (or use the action yourself).[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Dominated[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The DM gets to control your turn and use one combined action for you and your mount.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Dying[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The character suffers dying condition normally. [/FONT]
- [FONT="]You get to make the normal prone saving throw to see if you fall off the mount. The DM can control your mount’s movement until you are no longer dying.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Immobilized[/FONT]
- [FONT="]You cannot dismount. [/FONT]
- [FONT="]You can direct your mount to move, but you stay immobilized in one of the mount’s original squares. Basically, your mount rides out from under you.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Restrained[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The same rule for Immobilized applies.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Slowed[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The character’s speed becomes 2, but the mount remains the same. So, if the character dismounts, they are only able to move two spaces.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Stunned[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Since you cannot take actions, you cannot tell your mount to take actions.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Unconscious[/FONT]
- [FONT="]As you are unconscious, you cannot tell your mount to take actions.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]You get to make the normal prone saving throw to see if you fall off the mount. The DM can control your mount’s movement until you are no longer dying.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Weakened[/FONT]
- [FONT="]No issue here. Any attacks from the character are under the effects of weakened.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Any attack action from the mount is not under the effect of weakened. [/FONT]
- [FONT="]While mounted, for conditions that effect a mount, but NOT the character, the following will apply:[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Blinded[/FONT]
- [FONT="]No issue here. Your mount is blinded and suffers the effects.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Dazed[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Your mount can only take one action[/FONT]
- [FONT="]You can take all three, but only use one of them with the mount. Example: if you mount is dazed, it can move, but it could not move and then charged.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Dominated[/FONT]
- [FONT="]At the start of the character’s turn, the player announces if he will sacrifice a standard or move action.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The DM reserves the right to use the sacrificed action after the player has resolved the other two actions. Example: The player says he won’t move on this turn. The player uses a standard and then minor action. The DM then uses the move action on the mount and controls his movement.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Dying[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The mount suffers dying condition normally. [/FONT]
- [FONT="]When the mount falls prone, the character gets to choose an adjacent space to the prone mount.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Immobilized[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The mount cannot move this turn.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Restrained[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The same rule for Immobilized applies.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Slowed[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The mount’s speed becomes 2, but the character’s speed remains the same. So, if the character dismounts, they are only able to move their normal speed.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Stunned[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The mount cannot be used for any standard action.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The mount cannot be used for any move action.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The mount cannot be used for any minor action.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Unconscious[/FONT]
- [FONT="]As you are unconscious, you cannot tell your mount to take actions. [/FONT]
- [FONT="]When the mount falls prone, the character gets to choose an adjacent space to the prone mount.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Weakened[/FONT]
- [FONT="]No issue here. Any attacks from the mount are under the effects of weakened.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Any attack action from the character mount is not under the effect of weakened.[/FONT]
The above was the original set of conditions and how to deal with them. After some good feedback, I'm making some modifications.
Replacing those stated situations for when conditions effect the character, but NOT the mount
- Immobilized
- You cannot dismount.
- You can direct your mount to move
Replacing those stated situations for when conditions effect the mount, but NOT the character
- [FONT="]Dominated[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Since the mount is dominated, the character and mount do not share actions. The character can use all three actions, but is unable to use the mount for any of them.[/FONT]
- [FONT="]After the character is done with his/her turn, the DM gets to treat the mount as dominated character and take one action. If the character is still mounted, and the DM moves the mount, the character continues along with the mount. This can provoke attacks of opportunity.
[/FONT]
- [FONT="]Restrained[/FONT]
- [FONT="]The same rule for Immobilized applies[/FONT]
- [FONT="]If the character is subject to forced movement via a push, pull, or slide, they cannot elect to have the mount move, too. Effectively, the character becomes dismounted.[/FONT]
Last edited: