Protection From

not_me

Explorer
A quick question about the Protection From G/E/C/L spells.

The description for Protection from Evil says "stops all summoned creatures" but "Good summoned creatures are immune from this effect." All very good. A summoned creatures save good-aligned ones cannot attack the protected caster.

Where it gets odd is the following, under the other protection spells. It says "just like PfE, except good aligned creatures cannot touch the subject." A difference! Before it was ALL but good aligned, which meant Neutral could not touch it. Under the others, it implies it's only the specific aligned who canot touch it?

Should it be read as the PfE spell, and instead say "Evil creatures are immune to this effect" for PfG? Or should instead the PfG/L/C prevail, and it's only the aligned of that type that can be repelled? If so, how would one protect against summoned Neutral things?

Thanks.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

It is an error due to minimizing the text for the other spells.

Just replace good with X and evil with Y within the text of Protection From Evil where the caster is casting a Protection From Y spell and X and Y are diametrically opposed.

In other words, pretend that the wording is identical to Protection From Evil except for what it is affecting.
 

It should not say "Evil creature are immune to this effect" because the mind-influencing block of Protection from Evil/G/L/C extends to all kinds of creatures, not just Evil/G/L/C creatures.

Making them immune would poke a hole in that.
 

not_me said:
Before it was ALL but good aligned, which meant Neutral could not touch it. Under the others, it implies it's only the specific aligned who canot touch it?

Actually, under the others, it's "All but good aligned, plus lawful", "All but good aligned, plus chaotic", and "All but good aligned, plus good".

As written, the spells protect against summoned creatures with the following alignments:

PfE: LE, NE, CE, LN, N, CN
PfL: LE, NE, CE, LN, N, CN, LG
PfC: LE, NE, CE, LN, N, CN, CG
PfG: LE, NE, CE, LN, N, CN, LG, NG, CG

As KarinsDad says, common sense would suggest that this is unintentional, and you should really cut and paste the PfE text in its entirety and modify for the appropriate axial pair.

Felix - "Evil creatures are immune to this effect" applies to the summoned-can't-touch effect, not the entire spell.

-Hyp.
 

Hyp,

Understood, but the suggested change by not_me would make Evil creatures immune to more than the summoned-can't-touch effect, and I was recommending against it, not suggesting it.
 

Felix said:
Hyp,

Understood, but the suggested change by not_me would make Evil creatures immune to more than the summoned-can't-touch effect, and I was recommending against it, not suggesting it.

You misunderstood what he was saying.

There's a line in the Protection from Evil spell that says "Evil creatures are immune to this effect". He was saying that one possibility for what the rules should say is that PfG should read identically to PfE, but replace that line in the text with "Good creatures are immune to this effect". Not that PfG should say "As PfE, but Good creatures are immune to this effect".

-Hyp.
 

Eeeeeeexcellent, thank you all. PfE shall be the rule, swaping out the dimetrically opposing pairs.

You guys rock (and have post counts to back it up!)

not_me
 


Remove ads

Top