Pseudonatural dire weasels

uzagi_akimbo said:
Well actually, I think it was defined somewhere in the SRD that a "successful hit" means drawing damage (unless we are talking touch attacks) . And - IMHO at least - it seems ludicrous, that a Dire Weasel that cannot actually damage a victim will still be able to drain blood from it (probably by osmosis...), but I will readily agree that there have been far stranger birds among the rules of D20 v3.5....
Well DR isn't always rationalised as the attack failing to pierce the enemy; sometimes (particularly in the case of supernatural DR) I've seen it described as wounds that instantly heal as the weapon is withdrawn. Of course with weasels the wound cannot heal until they detach, so the blood drains..
 

log in or register to remove this ad

3d6 said:
From the SRD: ...The creature or object must appear within the spell*s range, but it does not have to remain within the range.

3d6, I :heart: you.

This Saturday the Psuedonatural Dire Weasels shall fly far and free! Muhahah! All shall feel my chittering, blood draining wrath! Rar! Phht!

*sigh*

Thanks!

Koewn
 

Bauglir said:
Is there a rule covering this? I mean, I can certainly see the logic in it, but I generally prefer to run things with the RAW (makes for fewer arguments).

From the SRD description of Damage Reduction:

"Whenever damage reduction completely negates the damage from an attack, it also negates most special effects that accompany the attack, such as injury type poison, a monk’s stunning, and injury type disease."

There is not (nor do I think there could be) a complete list of the special effects that can be negated by DR, but the DM is clearly well within the RAW to disallow blood drain if DR prevents all damage.
 

Remove ads

Top