Hi.  My party's wizard wants to use a *Lesser* Empower Rod to empower a *Maximized* Scorching Ray.  I understand that it is OK to empower a maximized spell, and I know the rules for doing it.  What I'm not sure about is whether the Maximized Scorching Ray counts as a 1st-3rd level spell for the purposes of the Lesser Empower Rod.  
Some of the wording regarding Metamagic Rods talks about spell *slots* and some of it talks about spell *levels*, so I wasn't sure. If you know the answer to this question, please respond. Thanks in advance.
				
			Some of the wording regarding Metamagic Rods talks about spell *slots* and some of it talks about spell *levels*, so I wasn't sure. If you know the answer to this question, please respond. Thanks in advance.
				
 