Quickdraw

What if I craft all my wands to have a sharp point on them? or a thin piece of sharp metal along part of the length so that they are now 'dangerous' if I hit someone with them? I'd argue for the sake of sillyness like this that wands should just be included in the quickdraw feat.

Afterall, in the hands of a wizard, a wand could certainly be viewed as a very very dangerous weapon. Although not quite within the context of the rules definition of 'a weapon'.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

mvincent said:
Hmm.... font size 1 seems perfectly readable to me (only slightly smaller than normal on my screen), but evidently it can be different for others. I'll quit doing that, but I'm curious how many see it as tiny, and how many see it as readable.
It was readable, but give me a couple of more years when I develop presbyopia (and everyone gets presbyopia) and it won't be readable at all. As it is, I need to hunker closer to the monitor to read font size 1. :D

Hyp, how could "draw a weapon" not mean the same thing in two different sections? Are you suggesting that it's a good idea to have inconsistent rules?
 

Just to be clear:

So if someone has a weapon sheathed in the first round of a combat, and does NOT have the quickdraw feat he will NOT be able to charge.

(thus making quickdraw useful for those warriors who enjoy charging into combat in the first round)
 


Infiniti2000 said:
Hyp, how could "draw a weapon" not mean the same thing in two different sections? Are you suggesting that it's a good idea to have inconsistent rules?

If it means the same thing in both places, then Quick Draw can't be used to draw a wand as a free action.

The Draw a Weapon action allows you to draw a weapon as a move action or combined with movement. It also allows you to draw a weaponlike object (such as a wand).

The Quick Draw feat allows you to draw a weapon as a free action.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
If it means the same thing in both places, then Quick Draw can't be used to draw a wand as a free action.

The Draw a Weapon action allows you to draw a weapon as a move action or combined with movement. It also allows you to draw a weaponlike object (such as a wand).

The Quick Draw feat allows you to draw a weapon as a free action.
Quick Draw alters the "draw a weapon" action for possessors of the feat (making it a free action). The "draw a weapon" action "also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands."
 

mvincent said:
Quick Draw alters the "draw a weapon" action for possessors of the feat (making it a free action).

Does it?

"You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action."

"Draw or Sheathe a Weapon
Drawing a weapon so that you can use it in combat, or putting it away so that you have a free hand, requires a move action. This action also applies to weapon-like objects carried in easy reach, such as wands."

The Draw a Weapon action applies to drawing weapons, and to drawing weapon-like objects. It is a move action.

The Quick Draw feat lets you draw a weapon as a free action instead of a move action.

The feat doesn't alter the Draw a Weapon action; it alters the action required to draw a weapon. To draw a weapon, the feat possessor doesn't take the Draw a Weapon move action; instead, he takes a free action. To draw a weapon-like object, it seems he is still required to take the Draw a Weapon move action, since the Quick Draw feat makes no reference to drawing a weapon-like object.

Unless, as I said earlier, you instead read "You can draw a weapon as..." to mean "You can take the Draw a Weapon action as..."

I2K complained that this means we're reading a phrase inconsistently - 'draw a weapon' in the feat text includes weapon-like objects, while 'drawing a weapon' in the action text does not, since weapon-like objects are noted separately in the action description.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
Jeez, Hyp. You're *so* darn good at the rules normally, then you occasionally come out with things like this.

The Drawing a weapon action encompasses drawing a wand. Does anyone here believe that this is different for quick-draw?

From the 3.5 FAQ (if desired):
"If I have Quick Draw, can I draw a wand as a free
action?

As described on page 142 of the Player’s Handbook, the
“draw a weapon” action also applies to weaponlike objects
carried in easy reach, such as wands. (The Sage would suggest
that magic rods and staffs also fall into this category.) Thus,
drawing a wand doesn’t provoke attacks of opportunity, and a
character with Quick Draw could draw one as a free action."
 
Last edited:

mvincent said:
Drawing a weapon encompasses drawing a wand.

No, it doesn't. Drawing a weapon is different to drawing a wand, which is why the Draw a Weapon action must explicitly state that it applies to both.

If drawing a weapon encompassed drawing a wand, it wouldn't be necessary for the action text to describe both drawing a weapon and drawing a weapon-like object.

The Draw a Weapon action encompasses drawing a wand, and also encompasses drawing a weapon.

-Hyp.
 


Remove ads

Top