Quickdraw

mvincent said:
The Drawing a weapon action encompasses drawing a wand. Does anyone here believe that this is different for quick-draw?

I believe that it's either different for Quick Draw (which lets you draw a weapon as a free action), or that Quick Draw is confusingly worded (and should state that the Draw a Weapon action is a free action for you).

If we have gloves that let us deflect arrows, they will have no effect on crossbow bolts. If we have gloves that let us act as if we have the Deflect Arrows feat, they'll work on bolts just fine.

The Draw a Weapon action lets us do more than just draw weapons, just like the Deflect Arrows feat lets us do more than just deflect arrows.

The Quick Draw feat allows you to draw a weapon.

-Hyp.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Hypersmurf said:
I believe that it's either different for Quick Draw (which lets you draw a weapon as a free action), or that Quick Draw is confusingly worded
I would contend that it is not confusing (i.e. almost everyone would arrive at my conclusion). A poll could answer that.

Does your argument also imply that the following rule does not apply to wands:
"If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move"

Or that wands could not be drawn during a grapple?
 
Last edited:

mvincent said:
Does your argument also imply that the following rule does not apply to wands:
"If you have a base attack bonus of +1 or higher, you may draw a weapon as a free action combined with a regular move"?

Sure, but footnote 4 on Table 8-2 covers the entire action.

-Hyp.
 

If Quick Draw was worded:

"Quick Draw [General]
Benefit: You can use the "draw a weapon" action as a free action"

there'd be no argument.

One can infer (given that the feat doesn't specifically mention drawing "a weapon or weaponlike object") that the feat only works with weapons because they are designed to be gripped and drawn quickly.
 

Sitara said:
Just to be clear:

So if someone has a weapon sheathed in the first round of a combat, and does NOT have the quickdraw feat he will NOT be able to charge.

(thus making quickdraw useful for those warriors who enjoy charging into combat in the first round)

Sure he can, as long as he makes sure to wear spiked armor. (It's an unremoveable weapon, after all.)

His damage will suffer quite a bit for it, though.
 

Hypersmurf said:
... that Quick Draw is confusingly worded (and should state that the Draw a Weapon action is a free action for you).
You're gonna have a lot more problems than just this one if this confuses you. If 'draw a weapon' != 'draw a weapon' then there are significant problems. I didn't think the wording could be any clearer that QD merely modifies the action type to free.

I'm curious how much difficulty you have reading something like Blind-Fight. Is it also supposedly exhaustive in terms of advantages for being invisible? I would hope you think not.
 

Infiniti2000 said:
If 'draw a weapon' != 'draw a weapon' then there are significant problems.

I think 'draw a weapon' does equal 'draw a weapon'.

Which is why the Draw a Weapon action, which lets you do more than just draw a weapon, is more versatile than the Quick Draw feat, which does not.

I'm curious how much difficulty you have reading something like Blind-Fight. Is it also supposedly exhaustive in terms of advantages for being invisible? I would hope you think not.

Blind Fight is interesting, in that the 3.5 changes mean it's not actually that useful to someone who is Fighting while Blind.

In 3E, a blind creature treated his opponents as if they were invisible. This language doesn't appear in 3.5. So while the blind Blind Fighter in 3.5 gets to reroll concealment miss chances and move at 3/4 speed, he doesn't retain his Dex bonus and still incurs the -2 AC penalty for being blind.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Hypersmurf said:
I think 'draw a weapon' does equal 'draw a weapon'.
No, I don't think you do. :p

What is a weapon? Per non-core rules, does it include wands and other stuff? Maybe I'm wrong here (not well versed in some of those non-core sources) . . .
 


Hypersmurf said:
I think 'draw a weapon' does equal 'draw a weapon'.

Which is why the Draw a Weapon action, which lets you do more than just draw a weapon, is more versatile than the Quick Draw feat, which does not.

I believe Hyp's implication is that there is a categorical issue (the same as rectangles and squares.)
 

Remove ads

Top