S'mon, Quick Draw can be used to draw any number of weapons a free action. There is no limitation of one per round.
Zigmutt, free actions can only be done on your turn, although many people (like myself) think speaking only on your turn is a bit unreasonable and difficult to play.
What your DM did was legal, although there is a DM imposed limit on free actions where they are supposed to use their judgement. Sounds like he might be designing encounters to specifically counter your character. That tactic he used was a little over the top if he did all that in one round, i.e. drawing two weapons (especially after an attack with one). And nothing is said anywhere about drawing shields as a free action.
My advice to you? Use the same types of tactic against his NPCs. Hell, you even have a roleplaying excuse. You learned it while it was being used against you! You would be crazy to ignore the power of that.