Rake and Pounce confusion? [2004 Thread]


log in or register to remove this ad


Hypersmurf said:
"Normally, a monster can attack with only one of its natural weapons while grappling."

Is there any other place in the PHB where it says this rule? Why is such an important rule about grappling in the Rake description instead of in the Grapple description?
 

Li Shenron said:
Is there any other place in the PHB where it says this rule? Why is such an important rule about grappling in the Rake description instead of in the Grapple description?

See Crossbow, Heavy, 3EPHB p100.

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:
See Crossbow, Heavy, 3EPHB p100.

But I think the Rake case is worst. I don't know if it has changed in 3.5, but we have played Grapple wrong for a long time because we never met a creature who used Rake :\
 




So, I'm curious, what is the verdict on this topic? I've been searching around the archives for a while now, and few people seem to actually AGREE on how to interpret this sort of thing.

Frankly, I'm confused, and all this time I thought I was grappling properly.
 

BTW have fun grabbing goblins! Improved grab only kicks off if you are larger than your foe unless the creature's improved grab entry says otherwise.
 

Remove ads

Top