Reach Weapon and Spiked Gauntlet

Aaron2 said:
I disagree with this. Take, for example, a character who fires off a full round with his bow, drops it and then quick draws a dagger. He can AoO with the dagger with no penalty. Next round he drops the dagger, quickdraws another bow (from his HHH) and keeps on firing. This is by the book.
No, actually ... I'm afraid it's not. Taking something out of an HHH in 3.5 is a Move action, not a Free action. And regardless, I'd call "in my HHH" the equivalent of "a hidden weapon" -- which with quickdraw is still a Move action (rPHB, page 98).

On top of which, in that case, the character has spent a feat, and a lot of resources. Or else is operating under OTHER handicaps (I sincerely doubt anyone is carrying aroundmultiple +5-or-more bows and multiple +5-or-more daggers (etc), just to fuel this tactic over the course of several rounds).

If another character, instead of dropping his bow and drawing a dagger, simply lets go of the bow with one hand (the other bearing the spiked guantlet), why should he take TWF penalty when the first character does not?

Aaron

Because he chooses to, in order to only need to pay for two magic weapons, instead of two dozen of them ... ?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

.

If I take a Full-round action and make two attacks on my turn at a -2 to hit(because I have TWF), do I get a -2 on any AoOs I make later in that round?
 



This has been covered, but I’ll put in my two yen.

The PC in question is holding two items (guisarme and gauntlet). He can choose to ‘wield’ one of both of them (meaning he waves it around, and looks for opportunities to attack people). If he…

1) Chooses to wield only one of them, he can attack normal with it, and gets attacks of Opportunity with it ONLY. The other item is not being wielded, just held.

2) Chooses to wield both of them, he can attack with both (or only one if he chooses) and takes the penalties for two weapon fighting (even if he only attacks with one). He can make AtoOp’s with either of them because they are both being wielded.

As he casts the spell he can wield either one or both as he likes. But of course, if he wields both, his AtoOp’s take the penalty for two weapon fighting.

That’s how I see it, others will most certainly disagree.

-Tatsu
 

Pax said:
Riga: yes. The penalties for TWF apply until the start of your next turn.

While I agree, it's debated... right now, in fact :)

Gruntharg's Law in the 3E Main FAQ supports the idea that you select one of your two weapons - the guisarme or gauntlet - to threaten with at the end of your turn, until your next one. You can hold the guisarme in one hand (free action to switch grips), in which case you threaten with the gauntlet; or in both hands, in which case you threaten with the guisarme.

The FAQ doesn't address what happens if you have Improved Unarmed Strike or monk levels.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:

Pax said:
No, actually ... I'm afraid it's not. Taking something out of an HHH in 3.5 is a Move action, not a Free action. And regardless, I'd call "in my HHH" the equivalent of "a hidden weapon" -- which with quickdraw is still a Move action (rPHB, page 98).

On top of which, in that case, the character has spent a feat, and a lot of resources. Or else is operating under OTHER handicaps (I sincerely doubt anyone is carrying aroundmultiple +5-or-more bows and multiple +5-or-more daggers (etc), just to fuel this tactic over the course of several rounds).

Where he stores his spare bows and how much they cost doesn't matter. The example was meant to show that the rules do not specify that you can only threaten AoOs with a weapon that you attacked with in the previous round. While you have to decide how your holding your guisarme at the end of your turn (since you can't change grips when its not your turn), doing so with a bow is a always a good idea. There should be no penalty. It's just like using your iterative attacks to attack with multiple weapons without penalty.


Aaron
 

Aaron2 said:
While you have to decide how your holding your guisarme at the end of your turn (since you can't change grips when its not your turn), doing so with a bow is a always a good idea.

Unless you're an Order of the Bow Initiate with the 'Free Attack' class ability.

There should be no penalty. It's just like using your iterative attacks to attack with multiple weapons without penalty.

Of course, if one of those multiple weapons is "a second weapon wielded in your off hand", there's debate as to whether or not you incur penalties.

-Hyp.
 

The rules for Threatened Squares (p. 137) specifically say that you threaten more squares with weapons you are wielding. While changing grips doesn't seem to require an action, since you are not stowing or drawing a weapon, wielding a glaive or guisarme specifically requires two hands, whereas holding it does not.

Spiked chains, spiked armor, and improved unarmed strike would provide the benefit of threatening adjacent and far squares.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top