reach weapon tactics...

Uh... the 5' step is his only movement. An MEA doesn't count as "moving any actual distance in the round".

Someone's lying on the ground. They stand up. That's moving

Is there a rule somewhere that specifically states that an MEA is not moving?
 

log in or register to remove this ad

Someone's lying on the ground. They stand up. That's moving

By that argument, casting a spell with a Somatic component or making a melee attack is "moving" as well.

The relevant phrase is "moves no actual distance". Someone's lying on the ground. They stand up. They're still within the same square they started in. That's not "moving actual distance".

-Hyp.
 

Hypersmurf said:

And you can only make one AoO against any given opponent in the same round, so even if he did provoke two, you'd still only hit him once.

Damn I hope they clarify that in 3.5. Or have I missed something?

Does a character with Combat Reflexes get to make an AOO for each provocation from one creature? For example move through threatended square and then attempt a disarm?

I know some people house rule this way, and others say one per round per opponent regardless.
 

OK, I can see that standing "moves no distance".

I also am a little unsure about this rule that you only get one AOO against a specific opponent

I may just be missing it somewhere

What is the source of this rule?

I'm thinking it has quite serious implications on play

Say, I move in on a polearm user and they AOO as I approach. Am I then free to grapple, disarm or whatever as they've already "used up" their AOO? It does seem to make grapple in particular a devastating counter since the regular use of grapple is inhibited by an AOO which not only causes damage but also prevents the grapple
 

I also am a little unsure about this rule that you only get one AOO against a specific opponent

I may just be missing it somewhere

What is the source of this rule?

The text of the Combat Reflexes feat.

Normally each round you can only make one AoO.

With Combat Reflexes, each round you can make 1 + Dex Mod AoOs. However, "The character still may only make one attack of opportunity per enemy. "

So yes, if someone has already made an AoO on you, you may grapple with impunity.

-Hyp.
 
Last edited:





Remove ads

Top