Readying a Silence Spell?

First, I find it amusing that Silence has a verbal component.

Second, I often try to have Silence cast on an ally's ranged weapon's ammo (esp. if its piercing ammo). Its very hard to move out of the area of a Silence spell that is centered on the tip of the arrow buried in your spleen.
 

log in or register to remove this ad



Cast it on a feather in the fletching of the arrow and hope the enemy' too stupid too figure out where it's coming from very qickly in the heat of combat?

I'd like to say there's a use for the Stick cantrip (Spell Compendium), but you'd probably want something stronger, liek Sovereign Glue.
 

There is nothing in the rules that says an arrow remains inside the person it hits - in fact an arrow that hits is considered destroyed. This sort of ruling leads one to believe that removing the arrow also causes damage. While it may make sense - trying to insert "reality" into D&D combat often leads to problems with the rules.

Generally speaking, ammunition that hits its target is destroyed or rendered useless, while normal ammunition that misses has a 50% chance of being destroyed or lost.

Which means that any silence cast on the arrow is now useless since the "object" is considered "destroyed", regardless of any ruling on the arrow remaining in the target after it hits.
 

Well, if you cast a permanent Silence upon the fletching-BEFORE attaching it to the shaft to complete the arrow- then you wouldn't have to worry about the "object" being broken.
 

Well, if you cast a permanent Silence upon the fletching-BEFORE attaching it to the shaft to complete the arrow- then you wouldn't have to worry about the "object" being broken.

Is it now 1 object or 2?

If it is now 1 object then the rules still apply right?

How many craft checks are involved in making arrows?

A separate one for the fletching?
 

Well, if you cast a permanent Silence upon the fletching-BEFORE attaching it to the shaft to complete the arrow- then you wouldn't have to worry about the "object" being broken.

Is it now 1 object or 2?

If it is now 1 object then the rules still apply right?

How many craft checks are involved in making arrows?

A separate one for the fletching?

If it is 1 craft check to make the arrow then the assumption is that the components (e.g. fletching in this case) are reworked somewhat to make the assembly - so the original object is still destroyed (e.g., the fletching).
 

Personally, I don't see how gluing the fletching into the arrow's shaft is a significant enough change to warrant that the silence is disrupted when the arrow is destroyed.

Admittedly, its rules lawyering, but then again, I'm a lawyer.
 

Personally, I don't see how gluing the fletching into the arrow's shaft is a significant enough change to warrant that the silence is disrupted when the arrow is destroyed.

Admittedly, its rules lawyering, but then again, I'm a lawyer.

You could make that call, but it would be under house-rules and not rules lawyering.

The reason is that it falls under "cost of raw materials".

I had a DM who tried to make a ton of house-rules on the fly but never thought them out clearly.

One followed your logic.

He tried to say that you could recover arrow heads.

I tried to push him to let us know the cost of making arrows.

What did it then cost for each component (arrow head, shaft and fletching) if he was going to break down the components? What were the craft DCs for each component if they were considered separate components? How much was saved by re-using components?

He also tried to make house rules on wands that required "masterwork" wands before they could be enchanted.

I asked him what benefits did the masterwork quality embue to a "wand" since masterwork by definition grants some benefit to an item over a non-masterwork one.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top