Reaping Strike/Bastard Sword

BigNash03

First Post
Reaping strike reads:

"Reaping Strike Fighter Attack 1
You punctuate your scything attacks with wicked jabs and small
cutting blows that slip through your enemy’s defenses.
At-Will ✦ Martial,Weapon
Standard Action Melee weapon
Target: One creature
Attack: Strength vs. AC
Hit: 1[W] + Strength modifier damage.
Increase damage to 2[W] + Strength modifier at 21st level.
Miss: Half Strength modifier damage. If you’re wielding
a two-handed weapon, you deal damage equal to your
Strength modifier."

Can I get my full strength bonus while wielding a bastard sword (a weapon in the "one handed" category) with two hands?
 

log in or register to remove this ad




Where did he say that? Got a link?

Found it myself:

"This is not an official answer, but let me give some insight into how versatile is intended to work.

As a rule of thumb when using a versatile weapon, default to giving the player the most beneficial reading of a rule or situation regarding one or two handed use.

So, the fighter would still get his weapon talent, and he could also gain the benefits of reaping strike.

Versatile is intended to let you have your cake and eat it too."

That may not be RAW, but it's good enough for me.
 

Still unclear: Does a versatile weapon count as a two Handed weapon when used in two hands?

PHB p. 215 (Last sentence before "Weapon Groups") does seem to say YES, PHB p. 217 seems to say NO

CustServ says NO, but they are neither official nor are really that competent anyway ;)

So, unless there is an official clarification, my group says yes, simple because next to no one would use them in two hands if all they get is +1 Damage (at least if they can use a shield).
 

Still unclear: Does a versatile weapon count as a two Handed weapon when used in two hands?

PHB p. 215 (Last sentence before "Weapon Groups") does seem to say YES, PHB p. 217 seems to say NO

CustServ says NO, but they are neither official nor are really that competent anyway ;)

So, unless there is an official clarification, my group says yes, simple because next to no one would use them in two hands if all they get is +1 Damage (at least if they can use a shield).
How is Nash's reply unclear? He's saying that Mearls said that you take the most advantageous interpretation for versatile. If your fighter would benefit more from a versatile weapon counting as a two-handed weapon for the time being, it does.

That said, I was inclined to think the opposite of you - the weapon group it is listed under is its one and only weapon group. However ... thinking about it for a moment, why? Is that +1 attack from Fighter Weapon Talent or the extra 2 damage from Reaping Strike really worth being that inflexible?
 
Last edited:

not only that, but Mearls seems to be saying that a fighter with One-handed Weapon talent use Reaping Strike while holding a Versatile weapon (say a bastard sword) with both hands, that fighter would get both a +1 to hit (One-handed weapon talent) and the extra damage from using a two-handed weapon with Reaping strike...
 

Well, at the very least, a halfling with one-handed weapon talent wouldn't get the bonus when using a versatile weapon, 'cos they can't wield it in 1 hand?
It would have to be so, else halflings would get the +1 for every single weapon they are able to wield.
 

Well, at the very least, a halfling with one-handed weapon talent wouldn't get the bonus when using a versatile weapon, 'cos they can't wield it in 1 hand?

CustServ disagrees, both with you and with Mearls:

CustServ said:
Q1: A human fighter chooses one-handed weapons as his Fighter Weapon Talent. If he uses a longsword in both hands, does he still get the +1 bonus to hit?

A1: Yes.

Q2: A human fighter chooses two-handed weapons as her Fighter Weapon Talent. If she uses a longsword in both hands, does she still get the +1 bonus to hit?

A2: No.

Q3: A halfling fighter chooses one-handed weapons as his Fighter Weapon Talent. If he uses a longsword (in both hands necessarily since he is a halfling), does he still get the +1 bonus to hit?

A3: Yes.

Q4: A halfling fighter chooses two-handed weapons as her Fighter Weapon Talent. If she uses a longsword (in both hands necessarily since she is a halfling), does she still get the +1 bonus to hit?

A4: No.

-Hyp.
 

Remove ads

Top