Rlentless Salayer's Relantless Fervor utility power

Shin Okada

Explorer
It says,

Effect: Until the stance ends, when you make two attack rolls because of your oath of enmity, make the rolls one at a time. If the first attack roll hits, you can choose to use the second attack roll as a melee basic attack against another enemy within reach.

So, first of all, I must be able to make two attack rolls because of my oath of enmity. Then, I must have at least two enemies within my reach.

Does that mean, unless I am using some reach weapon or somehow have 2+ melee reach, I must be able to target multiple opponent with my Oath of Enmity power, right?

A relentless slayer can do this when at least one enemy is his "slayer’s enemy" thanks to "Slayer's Oath" feature.

Also, a 15th-level daily attack power "Oath of the Many" (Dragon Magazine 382), allows me to make another opponent to be the target of my oath.

Are there any other trick to make this stance useful?

I am going to make a dwarf Relentless Slayer who's enemy is Fire Giant, mainly for role playing purpose. As I am going to attend Revenge of the Giants campaign, there will be at least some chance to fight against Fire Giants. But I am afraid that in most encounter (or in most part of the campaign), this 12th-level utility power is just useless.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

I think this is an area where the Rules as Written (RAW) are a little unclear. I think the INTENTION of the Relentless Slayer Paragon Path is to make it so that you can still have two attack dice even when there are two enemies adjacent to you as long as at least one is your Slayer's Enemy. So, you swear an Oath of Enmity against the giant lizard and then swear a second Oath against your Fire Giant, and as long as those are the only two enemies adjacent to you, you roll twice whenever you make a melee attack against either of them.

However, this isn't actually spelled out anywhere that I can find. Oath of Enmity still says that the target you're attacking has to be the only enemy adjacent to you. By Rules as Intended (RAI), I think it should work with two adjacent enemies as long as they're both your Oath targets, but RAW it doesn't seem to work.

By RAW, I think you're spot-on - you need to have a weapon with reach 2 or more in order to make Relentless Fervor do anything useful. By RAI, Slayer's Oath and Oath of the Many should make it a little bit more useful.
 

Pets & Sidekicks

Remove ads

Top