Rod of Cancellation vs Random Deflector

Satha

Explorer
If a character using Prismatic Sphere cast on a tower shield is attacked using the Rod of Cancellation in order to destroy it, and the character being a Wild Mage pulls up a Random Deflector (pg. 70, Complete Arcane) would it affect the Rod of Cancellations effect?

In my opinion since the rod is affecting the Tower Shield rather than the Wild Mage itself it should severe the magical connection between the permanancied (with command word) Prismatic Sphere and the Tower Shield.

Also on a second note, can a Prismatic Sphere be permanencied onto a Tower Shield and allow the caster to create a command word effect to activate it, it does not say one way or the other.
 
Last edited:

log in or register to remove this ad

Satha said:
If a character using Prismatic Sphere cast on a tower shield
Prismatic sphere is fixed on a point in space; it is not targeted on an object. So there's no such thing as casting a prismatic sphere on a tower shield.
 

Regardless though, I consider the Rod of Cancellation to be a very significant trump card. I would be very hesitant to allow something so simple to thwart it.
 

Ciaran said:
Prismatic sphere is fixed on a point in space; it is not targeted on an object. So there's no such thing as casting a prismatic sphere on a tower shield.

What he is trying to say is that the sphere has been built on the shield with permanency. as noted on the d20srd under "permanency".
 

Well the players would not have the rod of cancellation. I'm trying to think of a way to prevent that becoming far too overpowering. Either way it's going to be a while before they get to the point where they can use those spells.
 

Galamir said:
What he is trying to say is that the sphere has been built on the shield with permanency. as noted on the d20srd under "permanency".

That's just it though...

Primastic Sphere is an immobile 10 foot radius sphere that is initially centered on the caster. However, once cast, the caster can feel free to pass in and out of it, but the sphere remains precisely where it was cast.

It's not a 10 foot radius around object touched. It's an immobile 10 foot radius. You can't cast it on a shield and you make the sphere move.
 

Cedric said:
That's just it though...

Primastic Sphere is an immobile 10 foot radius sphere that is initially centered on the caster. However, once cast, the caster can feel free to pass in and out of it, but the sphere remains precisely where it was cast.

It's not a 10 foot radius around object touched. It's an immobile 10 foot radius. You can't cast it on a shield and you make the sphere move.

I dont think your getting the point the shield is enchanted with prismatic sphere, upon command word the shield casts prismatic sphere (much like a wand or rod) except there are no charges. There sphere would not move at all, it is stationary. what we were wondering is that would the rod of cancelation remove the echantment from the shield or could the warmage (Thats me) be able to cast random deflector and bounce the effects of the rod of cancelation.
 

If the Prismatic Sphere were already cast and the shield within the sphere, then the Rod wouldn't be able to get to it; it'd have to deal with the sphere first.

If the Sphere isn't cast, then it doesn't matter what the shield does, the question becomes, "Can the Rod of Cancelation's effect be turned using the Random Deflector spell?"

----
Complete Arcane, page 69

Random Deflector (Su):
The random deflector redirects ranged attacks, ranged touch attacks, and individually targeted spells ... so that they attack or affect a random target within 20 feet of the wild mage.

----

The Rod of Cancellation is not a ranged attack, a ranged touch attack, nor an individually targeted spell, so the ability Random Deflector does not help the Wild Mage in this situation.
 

I have another question, related to the above, is it even possible for the Prismatic Sphere to be bound to the shield? Even though in the rules for Permanency it says it can be bound to an object? And along those lines if it is possible can the spell be brought up and back down using a command word. No where in the rules for Permanency does it say thats possible. And quite frankly gets rid of the point of Permanency a bit if it isn't, ya know, permanent. Just makes it so the spell can be used for free dependent on the charges.
 

Satha said:
Even though in the rules for Permanency it says it can be bound to an object?
I disagree that Permanency strictly allows Prismatic Sphere to be cast on an object.

SRD said:
Additionally, the following spells can be cast upon objects or areas only and rendered permanent.
I believe this means: "The following spells, some of which may only be cast upon objects, some of which may only be cast upon areas, can be rendered permanent."

The quoted text does not supersede the text of the spell; it allows that these spells are either of object-only or area-only targeting, and that they may be made permanent upon their allowed targets.

Satha said:
And along those lines if it is possible can the spell be brought up and back down using a command word.
Not with Permanency. You would only be able to do this with a magical shield with the command word ability to create a Prismatic Sphere, via the use of the feat Craft Magic Arms and Armor, and possibly Craft Wonderous Item. That is something wholly seperate from Permanency.
 

Remove ads

Top