D&D 5E Santuary and "deals damage to another creature"

From the sanctuary spell:

If the warded creature makes an attack, casts a spell that affects an enemy creature, or deals damage to another creature, this spell ends.


What exactly is meant by "deals damage to another creature"?

If I am a Rune Knight and I make an enemy redirect an attack, does that count as me "dealing damage"? How about if a Runke Knight has someone in Fire Rune shackles and takes damage at the begining of a tunr. What if I am concentrating on a wall of fire and an enemy walks into it? How about if I am concentrating on crown of madness and I make the charmed creature attack someone?

Do these count as me "dealing damage"?
Yes.

I've interpreted the RAI as you exchange the ability to hurt others so that others can't hurt you. This allows you to move about the battle field, heal, or perform other actions that don't inflict any kind of damage. It's uncommonly used at my table, but when the cleric needs to be way over there, right now, that spell sees use.
 

log in or register to remove this ad

To play devil's advocate though - surely there's a time limit of some sort?

I mean, if i dropped caltrops in a dungeon 8 levels ago and 200 miles away, and then when I've got Sanctuary up and running in some completely unrelated encounter, a random wandering goblin comes along and stands on a caltrop - does my Sanctuary expire?

Or there's Glyph of Warding. ...

So i could cast Eyebite, then an ally could cast Sanctuary on me...
For me, no time limit, more of direct action. So the caltrops and glyph of warding wouldn't be an issue. I don't think glyph can be cast on something mobile. I would rule that eyebite would break the sanctuary since that is a harmful spell even though it is not causing damage.
 

You can drop cantrips and then go under sanctuary - you aren't doing anything. You can start a fire and no one can end your sanctuary by sticking their arm in it - but building a fire on a insect hive to kill them would. And the Create Bonfire cantrip requires Concentration, so that would end Sanctuary if it damaged someone.
Pulling on this thread a bit - there is nothing in Sanctuary about concentration. It talks about "casting" a spell. So if you already cast the bonfire why wouldn't it work? And if it would work with create bonfire why wouldn't it work with wall of fire?
 

Pulling on this thread a bit - there is nothing in Sanctuary about concentration. It talks about "casting" a spell. So if you already cast the bonfire why wouldn't it work? And if it would work with create bonfire why wouldn't it work with wall of fire?

Keep in mind both are concentration so (in 5e) HIGHLY unlikely you have both up at the same time (sanctuary and create bonfire or wall of fire).

But it's best not to overcomplicate IF the source of damage comes from the person under sanctuary - the sanctuary ends.

Something like dropped caltrops? It's the caltrop doing the damage, not the person who dropped it, there isn't some kind of mystical link.
 

Pulling on this thread a bit - there is nothing in Sanctuary about concentration. It talks about "casting" a spell. So if you already cast the bonfire why wouldn't it work? And if it would work with create bonfire why wouldn't it work with wall of fire?
You're focusing on the wrong part - there's nothing wrong with Concentration. However Sanctuary ends if you deal damage to another creature, and Concentrating on a spell is something you do (you can't do it while asleep, etc.) so if you Concentrate on a spell then you are responsible for the damage it deals, which ends Sanctuary.
 



Pulling on this thread a bit - there is nothing in Sanctuary about concentration. It talks about "casting" a spell. So if you already cast the bonfire why wouldn't it work? And if it would work with create bonfire why wouldn't it work with wall of fire?
Because the intent is clear. You aren't supposed to take hostile action or cause damage while it's up. While casting it(and Eyebite) in advance technically gets around the intent, a DM shouldn't allow that sort of exploitation of wording.
 

It is not. It lasts 1 minute or until broken. No concentration is involved.

Huh, could swear in saw the concentration symbol. But it's not there, so yep not concentration

As importantly, It's a bonus action, so can attack THEN cast it. then next turn attack and cast etc. It's a first level spell, so this can be some done a few times.
 


Remove ads

Top